Seen on the TAT logo and B10 coin, this five-spired landmark has been known as the 'Temple of Dawn' ever since the soon-to-be King Taksin landed by the then Wat Magog at sunrise in October 1767. Renamed Wat Jaeng when it was part of Taksin's palace, Wang Derm, it became Wat Arun under Rama II, before being remodelled by Rama IV. The sundry Chinese-style structures pale before the iconic, 81m-high (266ft) Khmer-style prang (spire), with four 'corncob' prang at the corners, all inlaid with polychromatic ceramic shards. Briefly home to the Emerald Buddha, Wat Arun features a pair of yaksa (giant) statues, ceramic gables and 120 Buddha images. Don't rush it on a canal tour, go separately on the B3 ferry from Tha Tien.