In 1326, the widowed Queen Elisenda of Montcada used her inheritance to buy this land and build a convent for the Poor Clare order of nuns, which she soon joined. The result is a jewel of Gothic architecture; an understated single-nave church with fine stained-glass windows and a beautiful three-storey 14th-century cloister. The place was out of bounds to the general public until 1983, when the nuns, a closed order, opened it up as a museum (they escaped to a nearby annexe).
The site offers a fascinating insight into life in a medieval convent, taking you through the kitchens, pharmacy and refectory, with its huge vaulted ceiling. To one side is the tiny chapel of Sant Miquel, with murals dating from 1343 by Ferrer Bassa, a Catalan painter and student of Giotto. In the former dormitory next to the cloister is a selection of illuminated books, furniture and items reflecting the artistic and religious life of the community.
|Venue name:||Monestir de Pedralbes||Contact:|
Baixada del Monestir, 9
|Opening hours:||Apr-Sept 10am-5pm Tue-Fri; 10am-7pm Sat; 10am-8pm Sun. Oct-Mar 10am-2pm Mon-Fri; 10am-5pm Sat-Sun|
|Transport:||Reina Elisenda (FGC)|
|Price:||€7; €5 reductions; free under-16s.|