iO Theater

  • Comedy
  • Improv
0 Love It
1/8
Photograph: Anthony Soave
iO Theater
2/8
Photograph: Anthony Soave
iO Theater
3/8
Photograph: Anthony Soave
iO Theater
4/8
Photograph: Anthony Soave
iO Theater
5/8
Photograph: Anthony Soave
iO Theater
6/8
Photograph: Anthony Soave
iO Theater
7/8
Photograph: Anthony Soave
iO Theater
8/8
Photograph: Anthony Soave
iO Theater
Lincoln Park

No doubt about it, the house that improv legend Del Close and founding partner Charna Halpern built rules. Not only has iO churned out legendary folk like Mike Myers and Amy Poehler, but it consistently puts the art of improv first, most noticeably via the Harold, its signature long-form. The shows are generally cheap and the classes a must for budding improvisers. The new theater complex, completed in 2014, contains four performance spaces: the Del Close Theater, the Jason Chin Harold Cabaret, the Chris Farley Cabaret and the Mission Theater. The venue's expansive lobby bar is an inviting place to hang out even if you're not seeing a show.

Venue name: iO Theater
Contact:
Address: 1501 N Kingsbury St
Chicago

Transport: El stop: Red to North/Clybourn. Bus: 8, 72.
Price: Average price: $5–$15
Do you own this business?

Pick a date

to
  • Improv Until Tuesday August 9 2016
    Read more
  • Improv Wednesday February 10 2016 - Wednesday August 24 2016
    Read more
  • Improv Thursday February 11 2016 - Friday August 26 2016
    Read more
  • Sketch shows Friday February 12 2016 - Friday February 26 2016
    Read more
  • Improv Saturday February 13 2016 - Saturday August 27 2016
    Read more
  • Musical Sunday February 14 2016 - Sunday February 28 2016
    Read more
  • Improv Monday February 15 2016 - Monday August 29 2016
    Read more
LiveReviews|0
1 person listening