Freedom Bar

© Alys Tomlinson
Soho

Looking out on to the gay vortex where Brewer Street, Wardour Street and Old Compton Street merge, with the gaudy green neon boast that it’s ‘open till 3am’ above its front window, Freedom can’t really fail to bring in the punters.

It draws a party crowd, women and straights included, who fill the cream-coloured banquettes that line the main space all the way to the glittery bar counter. Quality and location considered, prices are more than reasonable: seven types of martini (£8-£9), mixed with Bombay Sapphire gin or Zubrówka, Absolut Vanilla and flavoured Stoli vodkas; champagne cocktails in a similar price range; and an array of additional mojitos, cosmos and the like.

Happy hour runs all the way until 3am five nights a week (why didn’t they put that in green neon?), by which time staggering up the stairs from the basement disco may prove a challenge.

Venue name: Freedom Bar
Contact:
Address: 66 Wardour Street
London
W1F OTA
Opening hours: Open 44pm-3am Mon-Thur; 2pm-3am Fri, Sat; 2-11.30pm Sun
Transport: Tube: Leicester Square or Piccadilly Circus tube
Price: Admission £5 after 10pm Fri, Sat

Pick a date

to
  • Until Friday May 8 2015
    Read more
  • Tuesday May 12 2015 - Wednesday May 13 2015
    Read more
  • Stand-up Thursday May 14 2015
    Read more
  • Thursday May 14 2015 - Friday May 15 2015
    Read more
  • Tuesday May 19 2015 - Wednesday May 20 2015
    Read more
  • Thursday May 21 2015 - Friday May 22 2015
    Read more
  • Tuesday May 26 2015 - Wednesday May 27 2015
    Read more
  • Thursday May 28 2015 - Friday May 29 2015
    Read more
  • Tuesday June 2 2015 - Wednesday June 3 2015
    Read more
  • Thursday June 4 2015 - Friday June 5 2015
    Read more
  • Show more

Average User Rating

2 / 5

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star:0
  • 4 star:1
  • 3 star:0
  • 2 star:0
  • 1 star:2
LiveReviews|3
1 person listening
Veronica333

Awful place. Arrived at the club happy, excited and up for a good dance, left angry, tired and annoyed to have wasted my time there. The club seems to think cramming twice the amount of people than is comfortable into the place is acceptable, so i spent the evening having to elbow my way though masses of people every time I wanted to go somewhere like the bar or the toilet. The club is so packed that you can't even dance, just nod you head along to the music; people were crammed shoulder to shoulder in the middle of the dance floor...not enjoyable. Staff cleared away full drinks that were left by our group, and served and charged me for double measures of spirits when I asked for single drinks. It seems like the owners just try and get as many people in the club and get as much money out of those people as possible, but don't provide a good partying experience in return. Will definitely not be coming back.

Kinky Kabaret winner

Loved the kabaret show on Monday, really nice venue and good cocktails. Worth noting that you should pre-book a table as it can get busy on other times I have come.

disappointed customer

Dear Manager/Owner Please do something with your bar staff. It is not like one member of staff having a bad day – it is a total disappointment. It is very bad impression from almost all guys behind the bar who look like they absolutely bored out of what they do. What they do is nothing at all what you would call hospitality. This was definitely my first and last visit at this place.