Chinese Puzzle (15)

Film

Romance

Time Out rating:

<strong>Rating: </strong><span class='lf-avgRating'>3</span>/5

Not yet rated

Be the first...

 

Time Out says

Thu May 15

Fans of Cédric Klapisch’s charming 2002 comedy-drama ‘L’Auberge Espagnole’ will no doubt flock to see the final film in his trilogy (the second was 2005’s ‘Russian Dolls’). But they might be disappointed. Once young and hopeful, our bumbling hero, French novelist Xavier (Romain Duris), is now more wrinkled and beaten down, with an estranged wife who’s fled with their kids to New York. After following them and trying to make a life in the city, Xavier is warned by his editor back home that happiness is a disaster for fiction.

Overlapping stories of longing are the puzzle of the title: Xavier’s ex Martine (Audrey Tautou) keeps showing up without warning; his lesbian bestie (Cécile De France) is cheating with the babysitter. But the pieces are too haphazardly placed to form a proper whole. There are sweet moments and nods back to ‘L’Auberge’, including a neat trick in which we see snippets from all three films in the credits, but this lacks the magic of its predecessors. In the end, our guy gets the happy ending he wants, and his editor is understandably displeased.

0

Reviews

Add +

Release details

Rated:

15

UK release:

Fri Jun 20, 2014

Duration:

117 mins

Cinemas showing Chinese Puzzle

Filter

Filter

  • Address:

    Odeon Panton Street Panton St
    SW1Y 4DP

Map
  • Fri Jul 11:

    • 17:30
  • Sat Jul 12:

    • 17:30
  • Sun Jul 13:

    • 17:30
  • Mon Jul 14:

    • 17:30
  • Tue Jul 15:

    • 17:30
  • Wed Jul 16:

    • 17:30
  • Thu Jul 17:

    • 17:30

Watermans

40 High St, Brentford, TW8 ODS Show map/details

  • Address:

    Watermans 40 High St
    Brentford
    TW8 ODS

  • Venue phone:

    020 8232 1010

  • Venue website:

    www.watermans.org.uk

  • Opening hours:

    Daily 12noon-9pm

  • Transport:

    Tube: South Ealing; Rail: Kew Bridge

  • Map

    1. Watermans
Map
  • Fri Jul 18:

    • 16:15
  • Sat Jul 19:

    • 14:00
    • 21:00
  • Sun Jul 20:

    • 16:00
  • Mon Jul 21:

    • 16:15
  • Tue Jul 22:

    • 18:30
  • Wed Jul 23:

    • 20:45
  • Thu Jul 24:

    • 18:30

Users say

0
<strong>Rating: </strong><span class='lf-avgRating'>0</span>/5
LiveReviews|0
1 person listening