Union Chapel

© Andrew Firth
Union Chapel
Highbury

The devil might have all the best tunes, but the Union Chapel is proof that him downstairs knows nothing about architecture.

The Grade I-listed gothic masterpiece, completed in 1877, is still used as a working church and help centre for London's homeless. Noble purposes, to be sure, but equally uplifting is the effect the environment has on performances – and performers. Put simply, bands raise their game when they're playing the Union Chapel – it'd be sacrilege not to – and the spellbinding surroundings and acoustics mean it still beats the crap out of the most modern, purpose-built venue the twenty-first century has to offer.

While itmade its name hosting acoustic nights and occasional jazz shows, the Union Chapel has since become a magnet for the thinking bands and their fans, particularly as part of the rightly lauded Little Noise Sessions for Mencap.

Venue name: Union Chapel
Contact:
Address: Compton Terrace
London
N1 2UN
Transport: Tube: Highbury & Islington

Pick a date

to
  • Saturday July 11 2015 - Sunday July 12 2015
    Read more
  • Country Tuesday July 14 2015
    Read more
  • Pop and rock Saturday July 18 2015 Free
    Read more
  • Big-name talent Thursday July 30 2015
    Read more
  • Sunday August 2 2015
    Read more
  • Alternative rock Thursday October 1 2015
    Read more
  • Monday October 12 2015
    Read more
  • Pop Tuesday October 27 2015
    Read more
  • Jazz and experimental Thursday October 29 2015
    Read more
  • Monday November 2 2015
    Read more
  • Show more

Average User Rating

4.5 / 5

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star:3
  • 4 star:0
  • 3 star:1
  • 2 star:0
  • 1 star:0
LiveReviews|4
1 person listening
sahktibhakti

My favourite venue..its beautiful…Saw goldfraap here first. I love the carols by candlelight free christmas event the best….arrive well in time as they closed the doors on the late comers last year…. Lovely surroundings to see your fav artist in.

Dale

The most beautiful venue in London and where I've seen the most memorable gigs. Magic place.