Royal Court Theatre

  • Theatre
  • West End
18 Love It
© Helen Maybanks
Belgravia

London's edgy new writing powerhouse

London's premiere new writing theatre, the Royal Court made its name in the 1950s when it was synonymous with kitchen sink dramas and the Angry Young Men, and has scarcely looked back (in anger) since.

The commercially successful reign of Dominic Cooke was famously marked by his stated mission to acknowledge the nature of the Sloane Square theatre's audience and 'explore what it means to be middle class'. The quote probably came back to haunt him, coming to define a reign that was marked by lots of new writing from BAME playwrights, plus such towering West End transfer successes as 'Enron' and the peerless 'Jerusalem'.

Current Royal Court artistic director Vicky Featherstone has taken the theatre down a much more experimental route that frequently thrills but has perhaps endeared her more to artists than audiences. The Almeida and Young Vic having probably overtaken it in terms of influence, though certainly there's a willingness to try something that might not work that seemed to have disappeared somewhat in the Cooke era.

There are two venues, the tiny Upstairs and large Downstairs, plus a welcoming bar kitchen that's a fabulous place to visit for a gander at the cream of London's playwrights and creatives, who inexorably drift through throughout the day.

Venue name: Royal Court Theatre
Contact:
Address: 50-51
Sloane Square
London
SW1W 8AS
Transport: Tube: Sloane Sq
Do you own this business?

Pick a date

to
  • Drama Until Saturday March 12 2016
    Read more
  • Drama Until Saturday February 13 2016
    Read more
  • Drama Thursday February 25 2016 - Saturday March 26 2016
    Read more
  • Drama Wednesday March 30 2016 - Saturday May 7 2016
    Read more
  • Drama Tuesday April 5 2016 - Saturday May 7 2016
    Read more
  • Experimental Tuesday May 17 2016 - Saturday May 21 2016
    Read more
  • Drama Wednesday May 18 2016 - Saturday June 18 2016
    Read more
  • Drama Friday May 20 2016 - Saturday July 30 2016
    Read more
  • Experimental Friday July 1 2016 - Saturday August 6 2016
    Read more
  • Drama Wednesday September 7 2016 - Saturday October 15 2016
    Read more
  • Show more
LiveReviews|1
1 person listening
Katharine F

I went to the Royal Court when I first arrived in London decades ago - it knocked me out then and still does now - a proper theatre offering properly stuff - takes some risks but always delivers a satisfying night - great for local drinks and eating pre and post and right next to the tube.