Timeout New York Kids

Make the most of your city

Free things to do over spring break 2011 with NYC kids

Keep busy during the school recess without spending a dime.

Tuesday April 26

FREE Cool School Holiday
Tue Apr 26 10am--5pm. Staten Island Children's Museum, 1000 Richmond Terr at Snug Harbor Rd, Staten Island (718-273-2060, statenislandkids.org). Travel: From the Staten Island Ferry, take the S40 bus to Snug Harbor.
In honor of spring break, children's admission is waived at this borough institution, where kids can play dress-up in Portia's Playhouse or create their own buzzing bee in "Bugs and Other Insects." All ages.

FREE Target Design Kids: Design Tales
Tue Apr 26 at 3pm. Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum, 2 E 91st St at Fifth Ave (212-849-8400, cooperhewitt.org). Subway: 4, 5, 6 to 86th St; 6 to 96th St.
Today toddlers can participate in interactive storytelling with Jonathan Kruk, who uses varied voices and creative dramatics to share animal tales and finger fables. A museum educator will lead the group in take-home crafts. Registration required. Ages 2 to 4.

FREE French-Language Storytime at Book Culture
Tue Apr 26 at 4pm. Book Culture, 2915 Broadway at 114th St (646-403-3000, bookculture.com). Subway: 1 to 116th St--Columbia University.
Want your petit fleur to pick up some Franais? Native speaker Jesse leads a popular weekly story hour in the Romance language. French children's books are also available for sale. Ages 2 to 6.

FREE Budding Bookmakers: Ezra Jack Keats
Tue Apr 26 at 3pm. Mosholu Branch Library, 285 E 205th St at Perry Ave, Bronx (718-882-8239, nypl.org). Subway: B, D to Bedford Park Blvd.
At this event cosponsored by the Children's Museum of Manhattan and the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation, kids enjoy Keats's Brooklyn-inspired illustrations—like those featured in the beloved author-illustrator's Dreams, Apt 3 and Hi, Cat!—before learning how to use some of his artistic techniques. Registration is first-come, first-served. Ages 4 to 9.

Find events on...

Saturday Apr 16 | Sunday Apr 17 | Monday Apr 18 | Tuesday Apr 19
Wednesday Apr 20 | Thursday Apr 21 | Friday Apr 22 | Saturday Apr 23
Sunday Apr 24 | Monday Apr 25 | Tuesday Apr 26

 


 


 

  1. 1
  2. 4
  3. 5
  4. 6
  5. 7
  6. 8
  7. 9
  8. 10
  9. 11
  10. 12
Share your thoughts
  1. * mandatory fields