Added to your love list
0 Love It

Trend watch: Neoprene clothing and accessories

Neoprene—the soft, flexible material once relegated to scuba gear and laptop sleeves—has found a fashionable place as a summer staple.

1/34
Photograph: Noffar Gat

Clover Canyon Traffic Stop neoprene dress, $300, at Everything but Water, 1060 Madison Ave between 80th and 81st Sts (212-249-4052)

2/34

Charlotte Russe mesh-inset galaxy-print peplum top, $22, at charlotterusse.com

3/34

Nasty Gal Light Curve scuba-fabric dress, $165, at nastygal.com

4/34

Lavage neoprene sandals, $79, at yoox.com

5/34

Topshop neoprene satchels, $30 each, at Topshop, 478 Broadway between Broome and Grand Sts (212-966-9555, topshop.com)

6/34

DKNY Alexia Scuba heels, $250, at DKNY, 655 Madison Ave at 60th St (212-223-3569, dkny.com)

7/34

Cynthia Rowley Bonded leggings, $245, at Cynthia Rowley, 376 Bleecker St between Charles and Perry Sts (212-242-3803) • 43 E 78th St between Madison and Park Aves (212-288-1141) • cynthiarowley.com

8/34

Propsfashion Circles neoprene necklace, $53, at propsfashion.etsy.com

9/34
Photograph: Noffar Gat

Tracy Reese neoprene skirt, $228, at Tracy Reese, 641 Hudson St between Gansevoort and Horatio Sts (212-807-0505, tracyreese.com)

10/34

Roxy Momentum backpack, $98, at Quiksilver, 3 Times Sq at 42nd St (212-840-8111)

11/34

Clover Canyon Turquoise Valley printed stretch-neoprene jacket, $396, at clovercanyon.com

12/34

Forever 21 neoprene zip-up booties, $33, at Forever 21, locations throughout the city; visit forever21.com

13/34

Dorothy Perkins ikat-patterned top, $45, at us.dorothyperkins.com

14/34

Lavage neoprene ballet flats, $55, at yoox.com

15/34

Charlotte Russe striped scuba skater skirt, $19, at charlotterusse.com

16/34

Juicy Couture Surfside watch, $123, at zappos.com

17/34

BCBGeneration Alana neoprene tote, $70, at 6pm.com

18/34
Photograph: Noffar Gat

ASOS full midi Scuba skirt, $64, at asos.com

19/34
Photograph: Melissa Sinclair

Simply Vera Vera Wang neoprene platform wedge sandals, $30, at Kohl’s, locations throughout the city; visit kohls.com

20/34
Photograph: Noffar Gat

Foreign Exchange galaxy-print scuba dress, $27, at feclothing.com

21/34

Betsey Johnson Scuba Gal perforated tote, $60, at betseyjohnson.com

22/34

Cynthia Rowley sleeveless tank dress, $289, at Cynthia Rowley, 376 Bleecker St between Charles and Perry Sts (212-242-3803) • 43 E 78th St between Madison and Park Aves (212-288-1163) • cynthiarowley.com

23/34

Manhattan Portage Skyline 13-inch neoprene sleeve, $45, at manhattanportage.com

24/34
Photograph: Noffar Gat

Tracy Reese neoprene frock, $378, at Tracy Reese, 641 Hudson St between Gansevoort and Horatio Sts (212-807-0505, tracyreese.com)

25/34

Leghilà butterfly quilted neoprene shoulder bag, $303, at luisaviaroma.com

26/34

Dorothy Perkins Digital scuba skirt, $27, at us.dorothyperkins.com

27/34
Photograph: Melissa Sinclair

Forever 21 Scuba peplum jacket, $33, at Forever 21, locations throughout the city; visit forever21.com

28/34

Nasty Gal Close Encounters scuba-fabric dress, $109, at nastygal.com

29/34

Nwyvre WeaveWyrks The Conspiracy neoprene-and-anodized aluminum bracelet, $20, at nwyvreweavewyrks.etsy.com

30/34

RDM sleeveless top with neoprene detailing, $185, at yoox.com

31/34

Torn by Ronny Kobo Camille peplum scuba dress, $276, at singer22.com

32/34

Roxy Sea Blazer neoprene hoodie, $108, at Quiksilver, 3 Times Sq at 42nd St (212-840-8111)

33/34

Built Twist Top neoprene sleeve for Kindle Fire, $25, at builtny.com

34/34

Gary Simmons limited-edition surfboard for Tommy Hilfiger in collaboration with Art Production Fund, $2,000, at Tommy Hilfiger, 681 Fifth Ave between 53rd and 54th Sts (212-223-1824) • 500 Broadway between Broome and Spring Sts (212-334-0042)

Neoprene is the latest trendy fabric to make its way onto summer dresses, skirts, shoes and bags. Test the waters with a Cynthia Rowley digital-print scuba dress, sexy DKNY neoprene-strap heels or a sporty-chic Roxy backpack.

Follow Rachel LeWinter on Twitter: @Rachel_LeWinter

Comments

0 comments