Secrets of the High Line

0

Comments

Add +

  • Photograph: Richard Burrowes

  • Photograph: Richard Burrowes

  • Photograph: Richard Burrowes

  • Photograph: Richard Burrowes

  • Photograph: Richard Burrowes

Photograph: Richard Burrowes

This celebrated park is beloved for its unique vistas and creative use of industrial relics. But since it opened in 2009, it has also proven to be a real-estate draw, with developers transforming buildings on either side into swanky condos. When the High Line first opened in 1934, many of these structures stored the goods that the elevated railway ferried throughout the city. One such edifice, the Spears Building (located at 525 West 22nd Street), was a factory operated by the Kinney Brothers Tobacco Company and featured loading docks that led directly onto the railroad. Recent renovations to the tracks retained those docks as a structural element, which now help support the 22nd Street Seating Steps (one of the components of the High Line's second section). As for the Spears Building, it has since been converted into luxury apartments, but you can see one of its graffiti-covered walls from the lawn at 23rd Street. From Washington St at Gansevoort St to Tenth Ave at 30th St (thehighline.org)

See more in Things to Do

Users say

0 comments