• News
  • Movies

Music Box’s 70mm Festival is back with ‘Indiana Jones,’ ‘2001: A Space Odyssey’ and more

Photograph: Courtesy Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

We don't really need an excuse to visit the Music Box Theatre, one of the best movie theaters in Chicago, but the venue's annual 70mm Film Festival is a great reason to catch a screening in the historic movie palace. The Lakeview destination is one of the only remaining theaters in the U.S. with the ability to screen movies in the 70mm format, which requires a special projector that is loaded with 40-pound reels of film that run through the machine at 112 feet per minute. 

This year's festival runs from September 14 through 27 and features classic films such as Stanley Kubrick's trippy sci-fi epic 2001: A Space Odyssey, Jim Henson's puppet fantasy The Dark Crystal and New York City musical West Side Story. Music Box will also screen a brand new 70mm print of the expansive historical drama Lawrence of Arabia, a movie that was actually filmed in 70mm in 1962.

If you've never seen a movie screened in 70mm before, you're in for a treat. The format is physically larger than standard 35mm film, resulting in a more detailed image with richer colors and heightened contrast. You can score a festival pass for $70 or tickets to individual screenings for $14 ($12 for seniors and students)—tickets for all 70mm Film Festival screenings go on sale Monday, July 30 at noon via the Music Box website.

Take a look at the complete 70mm Film Festival schedule below.

2001: A Space Odyssey

Monday, September 24 at 7pm
Thursday, September 27 at 2:30pm

The Dark Crystal

Saturday, September 22 at 12:30pm
Sunday, September 23 at 9:15pm
Wednesday, September 26 at 7pm

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

Friday, September 21 at 7:15pm
Saturday, September 22 at 3pm
Tuesday, September 25 at 7:30pm
Wednesday, September 26 at 2:30pm

Lawrence of Arabia

Saturday, September 15 at 7pm
Sunday, September 16 at 12:30pm
Tuesday, September 18 at 7pm
Wednesday, September 19 at 2pm
Thursday, September 20 at 2pm

Patton

Saturday, September 15 at 11:30am
Thursday, September 20 at 7pm

The Remains of the Day

Friday, September 21 at 3pm
Sunday, September 23 at 11:30am
Monday, September 24 at 2:30pm

Silverado

Sunday, September 23 at 3pm
Tuesday, September 25 at 2:30pm
Wednesday, September 26 at 9:30pm

The Sound of Music

Saturday, September 22 at 6:30pm
Thursday, September 27 at 7pm

Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

Friday, September 21 at 10:30pm
Saturday, September 22 at 11pm
Sunday, September 23 at 6:30pm

The Thing

Friday, September 14 at 11:30pm
Saturday, September 15 at midnight
Wednesday, September 19 at 7:30pm

West Side Story

Friday, September 14 at 7:30pm
Sunday, September 16 at 6pm
Monday, September 17 at 2:30pm
Tuesday, September 18 at 2:30pm

Year of the Dragon

Saturday, September 15 at 3:30pm
Monday, September 17 at 7:30pm

Want more? Sign up here to stay in the know.

0Comments. See More