Orgie Awards set for April 19

In previous years, the anonymous group of theatergoers behind the [node:47776 link=Orgie Theatre Awards;] has announced its picks for honors in admirably arbitrary categories via emails to media outlets such as TOC. Even in the face of schoolmarmish discouragement, the faceless group has persevered in its mission to provide its chosen artists with recognition and crisp hundos, "to encourage a spirit of originality and adventure in Chicago theatre."

Last year, for the first time, the Orgies hosted a reception after the winners were announced. This year, they're taking it a step further, according to an event page posted on Facebook this afternoon: The sixth annual Orgie Award winners will be announced live at [node:159887 link=The Spot;] on the evening of Tuesday, April 19, in a ceremony hosted by Annoyance regulars Seth Dodson and Kellen Alexander and open to "all theatre freaks and friends." Doors open at 8pm for what's sure to be an orgiastic evening.

Update: In an email release sent out several hours after this Unscripted post was…er…posted, the Orgie committee asked that the following information be disseminated (info after the jump):


The people who will be receiving awards worked on shows at the following companies:

Annoyance Theatre

Blair Thomas & Company

Caffeine Theatre and Chicago Opera Vanguard

Cock & Bull Theatre


Ebb and Flow


The Paper Machete

Prop Thtr

Red Orchid

Side Project

Theater Oobleck

Theatre Y

(and a Chicago theatre critic!)

We ask that these theatres have a representative at the ceremony to accept the award in case the winner or winners are not present themselves.

Follow us

Time Out Chicago on Facebook   Time Out Chicago on Twitter   Time Out Chicago on Instagram   Time Out Chicago on Pinterest   Time Out Chicago on Google Plus   Time Out Chicago on Foursquare   Time Out Chicago on Spotify

Send tips to:

Laura Baginski, Editor (@TimeOutChicago)