Alarm Will Sound In Cleveland

0 Love It
Save it
Alarm Will Sound In Cleveland
More Less
Alarm Will Sound In Cleveland says
Alarm Will Sound comes to Cleveland on March 30 for a concert featuring music of Andrew Rindfleisch, Clint Needham, Steve Reich, Charles Wuorinen, Sean Friar and Aphex Twin. Join us at Cleveland State University’s Drinko Recital Hall for the world premiere of Rindfleisch’s "Vesper Voices," and performances of Reich’s Radiohead-inspired "Radio Rewrite," Wuorinen's modernist "Big Spinoff," and Friar's "In The Blue." The concert also features "Urban Sprawl" by Clint Needham, composer-in-residence/assistant professor of music at Baldwin Wallace University who was a resident composer at the Mizzou International Composers Festival.

Alarm Will Sound is a 20-member chamber orchestra that focuses on recordings and performances of contemporary music. Its performances have been described as "equal parts exuberance, nonchalance, and virtuosity" by the Financial Times and as "a triumph of ensemble playing" by the San Francisco Chronicle. The New York Times said that Alarm Will Sound is "one of the most vital and original ensembles on the American music scene."

Alarm Will Sound's repertoire ranges from European to American works, from the arch-modernist to the pop-influenced. The group has worked with contemporary composers, premiering pieces by Steve Reich, John Adams, Tyondai Braxton, David Lang, Anthony Gatto, Cenk Ergün, Aaron Jay Kernis, Michael Gordon, Augusta Read Thomas, Stefan Freund, John Orfe, Caleb Burhans, Dennis Desantis and Wolfgang Rihm.

Admission is free.

More details here:
More Less

By: Alarm Will Sound

To improve this listing email: