Chris Welcome & Sam Weinberg//Will Mc Evoy's Third Coast Quartet//Ben Cornwycz

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Chris Welcome & Sam Weinberg//Will Mc Evoy's Third Coast Quartet//Ben Cornwycz
More Less
Chris Welcome & Sam Weinberg//Will Mc Evoy's Third Coast Quartet//Ben Cornwycz says
Chris Welcome & Sam Weinberg

From sparse chamber-jazz to spastic avant-metal, Chris Welcome lends his unique voice to a variety of ensembles. He has performed with
HOT DATE, Apocalypso, Mothguts, Mike Pride's Drummer's Corpse, his own quartet, and many others. As a composer, he has written extensively for his quartet and for various chamber ensembles. His compositions combine space and pointillism with extended techniques, electronics and a loose, Jazz sensibility. Chris Welcome attended Rutgers University where he studied closely with Vic Juris, Stanley Cowell, and Ralph Bowen. He was born in 1980 in New York and grew up in the Chicago area where he studied guitar with Frank Portolese. He currently lives in Brooklyn, NY.

Sam Weinberg is a tenor/soprano saxophonist living in Brooklyn, NY. He has the good fortune of playing with many amazing improvisers in New York including Andrew Smiley, Chris Welcome, Jaimie Branch, David Grollman, Jason Nazary, Brandon Lopez, Jonah Rosenberg, Jake Henry,Henry Fraser, Connor Baker, Will McEvoy, Sam Ospovat, Josh Sinton, Danny Gouker, and many others.He is a curator at the weekly music series A.E. Randolph Presents at Bar Below Rye in S. Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

Will McEvoy's Third Coast Quartet

Will McEvoy (doublebassist, composer)
A recent transplant to SE Michigan by way of many years in NYC, McEvoy is premiering his new group and a new set of compositions. Eschewing traditional forms these pieces are cartographic in scope. The music features moments of unison coordination as well as startling layers of improvisation and thematic material.

Marcus Elliot- soprano
Tim Haldeman- tenor
Jon Taylor- percussion
Will McEvoy- double bass/composer


BenCornwycz is a trio of three improvisers/composers/statesmen in search of an unidentified destination. Unifying bass, brass, and violin, they attempt to discover that sweet, sweet place that lies behind a closed eye.

Ben Willis-bass
James Cornish-brass
Yuri Popowycz-violin

5-10 $ suggested

Music at 8pm sharp!
More Less

By: Spread Art

To improve this listing email:
1 person listening