This church, which used to be known as San Antonio de los Portugueses, forms part of the hospitable buildings founded by Felipe III in 1604 to help his Portuguese subjects in Madrid, although the church’s construction dates back to 1624. In the 17th century, the hospital was given to the German community after the separation of Portugal from the Spanish crown, and from there, its name was changed. It’s a temple that can go easily unnoticed by most pedestrians due to the simplicity of the façade, which contrasts with its stunning interior.
|Venue name:||Iglesia de San Antonio de los Alemanes|
La Puebla, 20
|Opening hours:||Mon-Sat 10.30am-2pm|
|Transport:||Callao (M: L3, L5)|
|Price:||Entry: donation of €2|