ConVerge: Foodie

The content on this page is provided by a Time Out partner.

YBCA Grand Lobby
FREE
See more at http://ybca.org/converge

In conjunction with the exhibition A Special Curatorial Project with Rirkrit Tiravanija: The Way Things Go, ConVerge is co-hosted by artist Michael Arcega and invites Bay Area artists Sita Bhaumik, Eliza Barrios, Mark Baugh-Sasaki, Taraneh Hemami, Xandra Ibarra, Kenneth Lo, Dorothy Santos, Thea Quiray Tagle, Alex Wang, Jova Vargas, Rafael Vieira, Andrew Wilson, Jenifer Wofford, and others to bring their best foodie selves and favorite meals to a communal gathering where the public can engage with foods, ideas, and residues that introduce the histories of post-colonial, diaspora communities. Admission to A Special Curatorial Project Rirkrit Tiravanija: The Way Things Go is free during ConVerge and uncovers narratives, reveals personal stories, and shares vignettes that lead to a larger understanding of migration in the production of material culture.

During ConVerge we will be giving out nam prik, a chili paste, produced by a collective of women in Thailand and presented by The Way Things Go artist Pratchaya Phinthong. We invite you to share your stories and photographs of the nam prik, so that we can send them to the artist and the collective. Please send your stories and photographs to Susie Kantor at skantor@ybca.org.

Michael Arcega: http://arcega.us/home.html
Sita Bhaumik: http://sitabhaumik.com/home.html
Eilza Barrios: http://elizabarrios.com/
Mark Baugh-Sasaki: http://www.markbaugh-sasaki.com/
Taraneh Hemami: http://www.taranehhemami.com/
Xandra Ibarra: http://www.lachicaboom.com/
Ken Lo http://kenlo.me/KENNETH_LO/kenlo_BIO_CV.html
Dorothy Santos: http://dorothysantos.com/home.html
Thea Quiray Tagle: http://ucsd.academia.edu/TheaQuirayTagle
Jova Vargas: http://www.jovavargas.com/
Rafael Vieira: Blog:http://rafaart.blogspot.com/
Andrew Wilson: http://www.aiwart.com/
Jenifer Wofford: http://wofflehouse.com/

The YBCA:ConVerge series is a free monthly public gathering featuring creative and generative art practices. ConVerge is where community and innovative multi- and inter-disciplinary arts practices come together in our free and public spaces in a fluid, interactive, experimental format designed to engage audiences.

YBCA's Grand Lobby and Front Door Gallery will come alive during ConVerge events with social art, live music, and inspiring curated performances, as well as drinks prepared by YBCA mixologists.

---

For more info, call 415.978.2787 or visit www.ybca.org

YBCA galleries are FREE to the public on the first Tuesday of every month. FREE First Tuesday is made possible in part by YBCA's Directors Forum Members

Enjoy same-day gallery admission with all YBCA paid events.

Join YBCA:You and receive FREE admission to every YBCA performance, film, exhibition, and special event! www.ybca.org/you

Gallery Hours:
Wed: 12 pm–6 pm
Thu-Sat: 12 pm–8 pm
Sun: 12 pm–6 pm
Closed Monday, Tuesday, except FREE First Tuesday
FREE first Tuesday: 12 pm–8 pm

LiveReviews|0
1 person listening