The Electric Circus

Fun and friendly party spot with hi-tech karaoke rooms, burlesque classes and retro-focused club nights

Part club, part gig venue, part karaoke den, Electric Circus tries hard to live up to its playful moniker, and for the most part is largely successful. Set just behind Edinburgh’s Waverley train station, late-night nonsense is at the fore here – a simple black exterior hiding the bright lights and big beats within.

Since opening in 2009, it’s merrily slotted into Edinburgh’s late-night scene, with decent live music on most nights of the week (tickets start from around a fiver, music type varies) and dancing going on into the wee small hours. It doesn’t push any envelopes, but club nights like retro showcase Beep Beep, Yeah have a loyal following.

The handful of karaoke booths aren’t quite up to Tokyo standards but, if you can ignore the screeching hen parties, there’s loads of fun to be had here, with smart LCD screens delivering lyrics and a neat touchscreen catalogue offering more than enough tunes to choose from. Those feeling sheepish about their performance can always opt for a jug of Circus’s cocktails.

Mixology masterclasses, burlesque dance classes and many more can all be arranged here; so too the use of the Lizard Lounge, their private party space.

Venue name: The Electric Circus
Contact:
Address: 36-39
Market Street
Edinburgh
EH1 1DF
Transport: Rail: Edinburgh Waverley

Pick a date

to
  • Electronica Sunday May 31 2015
    Read more
  • Saturday June 6 2015 - Sunday June 7 2015
    Read more
  • Singer-songwriter Friday June 12 2015
    Read more
  • Indie rock Saturday June 27 2015
    Read more
  • Saturday July 4 2015 - Sunday July 5 2015
    Read more
  • Saturday August 1 2015 - Sunday August 2 2015
    Read more
  • Saturday September 5 2015 - Sunday September 6 2015
    Read more
  • Saturday October 3 2015 - Sunday October 4 2015
    Read more
  • Saturday November 7 2015 - Sunday November 8 2015
    Read more
LiveReviews|0
1 person listening