The Museo Diocesano houses a large collection of religious art treasures taken from churches and private acquisitions throughout Lombardy. The museum, which opened in 2001, occupies three floors of the former Dominican convent of Sant'Eustorgio. A slick entrance leads into a great hall, from where visitors can follow slightly confusing colour-coded placards (occasionally in English) and study computer points scattered around (in Italian only).
On the ground floor are select works from the former Basilica di Sant'Ambrogio museum, including the olive wood frame of St Ambrose's letterpress. These are followed by works from the 14th to 16th centuries, a multimedia room and a collection of 17th- and 18th-century Italian paintings; there's a corner room dedicated to Gaetano Previatis's Via Crucis. Liturgical furniture (reliquaries, crucifixes, chalices and the like) is housed in the basement.
The first floor has a space for temporary exhibitions, as well as the collections of several cardinals: that of Federico Visconti (1617-93) is held in one small room, and includes copies of famous drawings, including portraits of Raphael and Titian by an anonymous Lombard painter of the 17th century; the collection of Giuseppe Pozzobonelli (1696-1783) has 17th-century Italian landscapes; that of Cesare Monti (1593-1650) has Lombard and Venetian works of the 16th and 17th centuries (including Tintoretto's Christ and the Adulteress, 1545-47). There's also a beautiful selection of 14th- and 15th-century altarpiece paintings with fondi d'oro (gold backgrounds), accompanied by a video in Italian explaining the gold-leafing process.
As of 2008, the museum is open during the evening only in July and August, and is organising events, including an aperitivo hour, for people staying in the city during the summer holidays.