Monsters University (U)

Film

Family films

Monsters University

Time Out rating:

<strong>Rating: </strong><span class='lf-avgRating'>4</span>/5

User ratings:

<strong>Rating: </strong><span class='lf-avgRating'>4</span>/5
Rate this
 

Time Out says

Mon Jul 8 2013

The idea of a prequel to ‘Monsters, Inc’ sounds like a comedown for Pixar, the studio behind animations like ‘Wall-E’ and ‘Up’. Still, while ‘Monsters University’ can’t claim outright originality, this is a far richer movie than most were expecting.

‘Monsters University’ is inventive and entertaining. It’s a surprisingly resonant origin story for kid-scaring buddies Mike (the walking eyeball) and Sulley (the big furry lump). In the 2001 film we learned how the screams of frightened kids power the city of Monstropolis. In the new film, the focus is on training the elite monsters who raid the human world, with students Mike and Sulley super-keen to join the gang.

We know that Mike and Sulley achieve their goal, yet somehow the outcome is never taken for granted. That’s mostly because this movie is daring with its characterisation. It’s rare for a family movie to be built around folk who aren’t likeable, and these two are clearly going about things the wrong way. Swotty Mike (a perky Billy Crystal) knows the college reading list backwards, but we suspect that real scariness needs to be earned, not learnt from books. Meanwhile, Sulley (a hang-loose John Goodman) hails from an esteemed dynasty of scarers, making him a combo of laziness and arrogance.

True to buddy-pic formula, Mike and Sulley have some bonding to do, which unfolds via a tournament to crown the scariest undergrads. Amid the jocks versus nerds knockabout (mounted with Pixar’s best madcap precision), the writing touches on sensitive, grown-up subject matter. After all, how do we square our boundless ambitions with the crushing realities of luck and our personal limitations?

All of which is right in tune with the Pixar tradition of allowing adults to ponder while diverting the kids with brightly hued fun. There’s slightly too much sports-flick cliché holding the structure together for ‘Monsters University’ to rank up there with the ‘Toy Story’ trilogy. But it has enough of the right stuff to haunt the imagination long after the immediate buzz of its fluffy-furred cuteness has melted away. For a mere prequel, that’s a result.

0

Reviews

Add +

Release details

Rated:

U

UK release:

Fri Jul 12, 2013

Duration:

110 mins

Cast and crew

Director:

Dan Scanlon

Voices:

John Goodman, Billy Crystal, Jennifer Tilly

Cinemas showing Monsters University

Filter

Filter

Showcase Newham

Jenkins Lane, Barking, IG11 0AD Show map/details

  • Address:

    Showcase Newham Jenkins Lane
    Barking
    IG11 0AD

Map
  • Wed Jul 30:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Thu Jul 31:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Fri Aug 1:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sat Aug 2:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sun Aug 3:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Mon Aug 4:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Tue Aug 5:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Wed Aug 6:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Thu Aug 7:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Fri Aug 8:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sat Aug 9:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sun Aug 10:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Mon Aug 11:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Tue Aug 12:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Wed Aug 13:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Thu Aug 14:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Fri Aug 15:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sat Aug 16:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sun Aug 17:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Mon Aug 18:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Tue Aug 19:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Wed Aug 20:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Thu Aug 21:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Fri Aug 22:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sat Aug 23:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sun Aug 24:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Mon Aug 25:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Tue Aug 26:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Wed Aug 27:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Thu Aug 28:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Fri Aug 29:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sat Aug 30:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sun Aug 31:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Mon Sep 1:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Tue Sep 2:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Wed Sep 3:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Thu Sep 4:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Fri Sep 5:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sat Sep 6:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sun Sep 7:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Mon Sep 8:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Tue Sep 9:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Wed Sep 10:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Thu Sep 11:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Fri Sep 12:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sat Sep 13:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sun Sep 14:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Mon Sep 15:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Tue Sep 16:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Wed Sep 17:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Thu Sep 18:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Fri Sep 19:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sat Sep 20:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sun Sep 21:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Mon Sep 22:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Tue Sep 23:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Wed Sep 24:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Thu Sep 25:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Fri Sep 26:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sat Sep 27:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sun Sep 28:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Mon Sep 29:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Tue Sep 30:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Wed Oct 1:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Thu Oct 2:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Fri Oct 3:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sat Oct 4:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sun Oct 5:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Mon Oct 6:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Tue Oct 7:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Wed Oct 8:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Thu Oct 9:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Fri Oct 10:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sat Oct 11:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sun Oct 12:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Mon Oct 13:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Tue Oct 14:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Wed Oct 15:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Thu Oct 16:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Fri Oct 17:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sat Oct 18:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Sun Oct 19:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Mon Oct 20:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Tue Oct 21:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Wed Oct 22:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Thu Oct 23:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45
  • Fri Oct 24:

    • 11:00
    • 13:45

Users say

0
<strong>Rating: </strong><span class='lf-avgRating'>0</span>/5

Average User Rating

3.1 / 5

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star:1
  • 4 star:0
  • 3 star:0
  • 2 star:1
  • 1 star:0
LiveReviews|6
1 person listening
Nikki

There's been a lot of negativity towards this film generally and I don't understand it at all. Loved Monsters Inc. and thought this was just as impressive an offering - geniunely funny and full of the kind of emotion that Pixar does so well. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Nikki

There's been a lot of negativity towards this film generally and I don't understand it at all. Loved Monsters Inc. and thought this was just as impressive an offering - geniunely funny and full of the kind of emotion that Pixar does so well. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Ian

I really am not sure what film the reviewer saw but it certainly wasn't the one I and a reasonably large number of family groups saw this afternoon. As a film this was dull and derivative. We go over the same journey we have been on many times before in college buddy movies with the derivative group of bad guy jocks that the team of misfit losers, including Mike and Sully, inevitably defeat. There was virtually no laughter during the whole film even from the large number of pre teen kids that should be this films target audience. A poor film that is just worth 2 stars. If you have kids go see Despicable Me 2 rather than this.

Ian

I really am not sure what film the reviewer saw but it certainly wasn't the one I and a reasonably large number of family groups saw this afternoon. As a film this was dull and derivative. We go over the same journey we have been on many times before in college buddy movies with the derivative group of bad guy jocks that the team of misfit losers, including Mike and Sully, inevitably defeat. There was virtually no laughter during the whole film even from the large number of pre teen kids that should be this films target audience. A poor film that is just worth 2 stars. If you have kids go see Despicable Me 2 rather than this.

Louise

LOVED 'Monsters Inc' and this one is just as good! From start to finish it was a colourful, crazy, funny delight! I also thought it was a good plot idea. Most of the characters from the previous film were here again, even though this is a 'prequel'. The only gripe is that 3D is not necessary and I wish film-makers would stop using it. It is such a con! See this film and have a rollicking good time!

Louise

LOVED 'Monsters Inc' and this one is just as good! From start to finish it was a colourful, crazy, funny delight! I also thought it was a good plot idea. Most of the characters from the previous film were here again, even though this is a 'prequel'. The only gripe is that 3D is not necessary and I wish film-makers would stop using it. It is such a con! See this film and have a rollicking good time!