The Lady from the Shanghai Cinema

Film

Film noir

Not yet rated

Be the first...

 

Time Out says

Prado pays tribute to film noir in general, and to The Lady from Shanghai in particular; but given that Welles' mirror-play classic was itself a genre deconstruction, it's little wonder that Prado's film ends up being more labyrinthine than its play on fantasy and reality, death and desire, can quite accommodate. On a chance visit to a fleapit, seedy estate agent Lucas (Fagundes) enjoys a steamy near-encounter with femme fatale Suzana (Proença); the next day, he finds himself selling a flat to her sinister husband. A slave to his hormones, and intrigued by this rapidly developing B-pic scenario, he is plunged into the customary abyss of mistaken identity, secret societies, drug runners and dead sailors. The film impresses with its hothouse look - all neon, sweat and ceiling fans - but its narrative obfuscation, spiked with Godardian distancing, is too complex to hold the attention.
0

Reviews

Add +

Release details

UK release:

1988

Duration:

117 mins

Cinemas showing The Lady from the Shanghai Cinema

Filter

Filter

BFI Southbank

Belvedere Rd, London, SE1 8XT Show map/details

  • Address:

    BFI Southbank Belvedere Rd
    London
    SE1 8XT

Map
  • Mon Jul 28:

    • 18:30
  • Tue Jul 29:

    • 18:30
  • Wed Jul 30:

    • 20:30
  • Thu Jul 31:

    • 04:30
    • 18:20
  • Fri Aug 1:

    • 17:50
  • Sat Aug 2:

    • 14:15
  • Sun Aug 3:

    • 14:00
  • Mon Aug 4:

    • 17:50
  • Tue Aug 5:

    • 21:00
  • Wed Aug 6:

    • 20:45
  • Thu Aug 7:

    • 17:50
    • 21:00

Soho Curzon

93-107 Shaftesbury Ave, London, W1D 5DY Show map/details

  • Address:

    Soho Curzon 93-107 Shaftesbury Ave
    London
    W1D 5DY

  • Opening hours:

    Box office 0870 756 4620

  • Transport:

    Tube: Leicester Sq

  • Map

    1. Soho Curzon
      • 93-107 Shaftesbury Ave
        London
        W1D 5DY
      • 51.512794,-0.130461
Map
  • Mon Jul 28:

    • 12:00
  • Tue Jul 29:

    • 16:45
  • Wed Jul 30:

    • 21:25
  • Thu Jul 31:

    • 16:40

Users say

0
<strong>Rating: </strong><span class='lf-avgRating'>0</span>/5