Orange Tree Theatre

Theatre , Private theatres Richmond
0 Love It
Save it
Orange Tree Theatre

Formerly London's chintziest theatre, the Orange Tree is now one of its hippest

Starting life as a lunchtime pub venue in Richmond in 1971, the Orange Tree Theatre graduated to a bigger, 170-seat space across the road in the early ’90s, with a permanently in-the-round set up. Founder Sam Waters, who ran the theatre for 42 years, deserves an enormous amount of credit, and in its day the theatre gave a leg-up to everyone from Martin Crimp to Sean Holmes.

However, the later days of Waters's reign saw the Orange Tree become rather moribund, with a programme based upon revivals of obscure period dramas that played well with the loyal, elderly audience but seriously lacked diversity, and probably played a large amount in the Arts Council scrapping all funding to the theatre.

This turned out to be a mistake that will surely be reversed, as his successor Paul Miller has completely turned the theatre around, with a programme that still makes the odd nod to the period works of the past, but combines it with a formidable commitment to new writing and reaching out to younger and more diverse audiences. Alistair McDowell's mad dystopian thriller 'Pomona' scored acres of acclaim and tranferred to the National Theatre, sealing the theatre's resurrection.

In 2016 the Arts Council awarded the Orange Tree £75,000 in funding.

Venue name: Orange Tree Theatre
Contact:
Address: 1
Clarence Street
Richmond
TW9 2SA
Transport: Rail/Tube: Richmond
Do you own this business?

Pick a date

to
  • Drama Thursday September 8 2016 - Saturday October 8 2016
    Read more
  • Jazz Sunday September 25 2016
    Read more
  • Cabaret and burlesque Sunday October 2 2016
    Read more
  • Drama Thursday October 13 2016 - Saturday November 19 2016
    Read more
  • Shakespeare Tuesday October 25 2016 - Friday November 4 2016
    Read more
  • Classical and opera Sunday November 6 2016 - Sunday January 15 2017
    Read more
  • Musical Sunday November 13 2016
    Read more
  • Drama Thursday November 24 2016 - Saturday January 7 2017
    Read more
  • Musical Sunday December 4 2016
    Read more
  • Drama Friday December 16 2016 - Saturday January 7 2017
    Read more
  • Show more
LiveReviews|0
1 person listening