Unlocking Lovelock: Scientist, Inventor, Maverick

Things to do

Science Museum

Until Thu Apr 9 2015

  • Free

James Lovelock and his daughter Christie collecting air samples © Irish Examiner

Not yet rated

Be the first...

 
0

Reviews

Add +

Venue details

MAP CLOSE
  • Name:

    Science Museum

  • Address:

    Science Museum Exhibition Rd
    London
    SW7 2DD

  • Venue phone:

    0870 870 4868

  • Venue website:

    www.sciencemuseum.org.uk

  • Opening hours:

    Daily 10am-6pm (last admission 5.15pm)

  • Transport:

    Tube: South Kensington

  • Price:

    Free (permanent collection); admission charge applies for some temporary exhibitions

  • Map

    1. Science Museum
  • Categories :

    Things to do

  • Type of event :

    Exhibitions

Unlocking Lovelock: Scientist, Inventor, Maverick 2014 - 2015

  • Date Time Price information
  • Sat Nov 1
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Sun Nov 2
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Mon Nov 3
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Tue Nov 4
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Wed Nov 5
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Thu Nov 6
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Fri Nov 7
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Sat Nov 8
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Sun Nov 9
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Mon Nov 10
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Tue Nov 11
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Wed Nov 12
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Thu Nov 13
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Fri Nov 14
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Sat Nov 15
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Sun Nov 16
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Mon Nov 17
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Tue Nov 18
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Wed Nov 19
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Thu Nov 20
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Fri Nov 21
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Sat Nov 22
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Sun Nov 23
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Mon Nov 24
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Tue Nov 25
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Wed Nov 26
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Thu Nov 27
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Fri Nov 28
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Sat Nov 29
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     
  • Sun Nov 30
    10:00
    Free
     
     
     
     

Users say

0
<strong>Rating: </strong><span class='lf-avgRating'>0</span>/5

Average User Rating

4 / 5

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star:0
  • 4 star:1
  • 3 star:0
  • 2 star:0
  • 1 star:0
LiveReviews|1
2 people listening
Curated London

A trawl through the archives of an elderly scientist might not sound like much fun but, thanks to the brilliant curation, this year-long display is more engaging than you might think. James Lovelock, now in his 90s, is something of a polymath. Despite solid job offers from the likes of the Medical Research Council and NASA, Lovelock opted to work as a freelance scientist, consulting for dozens of different institutions across a range of disciplines. 


Lovelock is widely known as the man who ‘discovered’ CFCs (or, more accurately, found a way to measure them, and prove the harm they do to the atmosphere). It’s thanks to his pioneering research that these highly damaging chemicals (once thought to be harmless) have been banned worldwide. 


He is also (in)famous for devising the Gaia Hypothesis. This suggests that the planet exists as a single, self-regulating organism. Despite years of research and dozens of books and research papers, the hypothesis remains controversial. Lovelocks (positive) views on nuclear power have also garnered criticism from within the scientific community.


The curators do not shy away from this controversy, instead presenting his ideas in straightforward terms with balanced views from his peers. Along with the collection of artefacts, simple diagrams and sparing use of text, this is an enjoyable and informative display. 


For more exhibition news in plain English, check out http://www.curatedlondon.co.uk