Mirth-in-progress: Edinburgh previews in London

Get one jump ahead of the Fringe, without leaving town

As comics frantically pull together their Edinburgh Fringe shows, Londoners have the chance to catch big name stand-ups and rising stars workshopping material for ridiculously cheap prices.

There are hundreds of Edinburgh Fringe previews in London throughout June and July (see our full list here), but here are some comedy clubs and venues we particularly recommend for good value first-sees.

The best comedy clubs for Edinburgh Fringe previews

Always Be Comedy

Critics' choice

What This fortnightly comedy club in Kennington has consistently had good-quality line-ups, and now it's in Edinburgh Fringe preview season.

Who Josh Widdicombe, Katherine Ryan, Pete Firman and lots more.

Read more
The Tommyfield Thursday July 2 2015 - Thursday July 30 2015

ARGComFest – An Actually Rather Good Comedy Festival

Critics' choice

What Two days. One venue. A shit-ton of Edinburgh Fringe previews. An intense dose of stand-up with hour-long work-in-progress shows crammed into one weekend.

Who Phill Jupitus, Tim Key, Bridget Christie and literally dozens more.

Read more
Shoreditch Town Hall Saturday July 4 2015 - Sunday July 5 2015

ArtHouse Comedy Previews

Critics' choice

What Crouch End previews from big names and rising stars.

Who Jo Brand, Phil Nichol, Katherine Ryan and lots more.

Read more
ArtHouse Crouch End Sunday July 5 2015 - Monday July 13 2015

Balham Free Fringe

Critics' choice

What A little pocket of the Edinburgh Fringe in south London. 40 hours of comedy – for free – in one weekend.

Who Stuart Laws, Sofie Hagen, Rory O'Keeffe and more.

Read more
The Bedford Friday July 24 2015 - Sunday July 26 2015 Free

BBQ Previews

Critics' choice

What The trendy Invisible Dot's previews feature a double-bill, with a free burger in the break (a veggie option is available, too).

Who Mike Wozniak, David Elms, Beard and more.

Read more
The Invisible Dot Ltd Sunday July 5 2015 - Sunday July 12 2015

Bear Funny

What Double-bills of work-in-progress shows from top comics for cheapo prices.

Who Sofie Hagen, Felicity Ward, Holly Burn and lots more.

Read more
The Finsbury Wednesday July 1 2015 - Wednesday July 29 2015

Crack Comedy Club – Southbank: Edinburgh Previews

What Each Wednesday in July, lovable grouch Luke Toulson workshops his latest Edinburgh Fringe show alongside another comic.

Who Luke Toulson, Aisling Bea, Carl Donnelly and more. 

Read more
Slug and Lettuce County Hall Wednesday July 1 2015 - Wednesday July 29 2015
Show more
See our full list of Edinburgh Fringe previews

Comments

1 comments
Sean
Sean

These all look fantastic and it is an exciting time of year, as seemingly everyone in the world of comedy prepares almost feverishly to invade Scotland in August. The common thing here is that you'll see two (possibly unfinished) hour long shows a night, as comedians get themselves together for the big push. Watch as much as you can I say! Now, I am slightly biased here, as a performer and curator of a lovely wee club called 'We Love Comedy'. Are we doing Edinburgh previews this year? Why yes, LOT's of them! But after a lot of research (OK, mainly sharing a couple of beers and a chat with some comedians and our audiences), we decided to try something a little different. You see, sometimes two previews a night is a great thing, but sometimes it can be a bit of a long winded thing to sit through, as notes are shuffled through and shows are workshopped. So, what we decided to do is have three Edinburgh previews a night at our club! 'THREE?!' you say? How is that going to work? Well, instead of hour long shows, we're having three slots of between 30 and 45 minutes – more than long enough to test drive a lot of a show and more value for audiences (as well as potentially less numbness in the posterior!). Coming up we have Terry Alderton, Ed Aczel, Tony Law, Sara Pascoe (tonight actually), Bridget Christie and, well, you'll have to just search for 'We Love Comedy' to find all the details. Hope to see you at one soon and do let us know what you think.