Cecil Sharp House

Music , Music venues Primrose Hill
  • 5 out of 5 stars
(1 user review)
0 Love It
Save it
Geese performing at the Shh Festival

Open since 1930, this stately red-brick building was purpose built as the home of the English Folkdance and Song Society (and is named after its founder), and plays host to a musical selection inspired by their mission to 'preserve and promote English folk dances in their traditional forms. As a result, the roster is packed with barn dances, ceilidhs, traditional folk luminaries and the occasional ukulele shenanigan. More unexpected acts like Goldfrapp and Sigur Rós have played here in recent years too, but they're very much the exception to the cultural heritage-based bill.

Venue name: Cecil Sharp House
Contact:
Address: 2
Regent's Park Rd
London
NW1 7AY
Transport: Tube: Camden Town
Do you own this business?

Pick a date

to
  • Folk, country and blues Wednesday May 25 2016
    Read more
  • Talks and lectures Sunday May 29 2016 - Sunday October 30 2016
    Read more
  • Thursday June 2 2016
    Read more
  • Classical and opera Sunday June 5 2016
    Read more
  • Monday June 13 2016 - Monday July 11 2016
    Read more
  • Folk, country and blues Thursday June 16 2016
    Read more
  • Covers bands Tuesday July 5 2016
    Read more
  • Folk, country and blues Friday July 15 2016
    Read more
  • Folk, country and blues Saturday July 16 2016
    Read more
  • Folk, country and blues Sunday July 17 2016
    Read more
  • Show more

Average User Rating

5 / 5

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star:1
  • 4 star:0
  • 3 star:0
  • 2 star:0
  • 1 star:0
LiveReviews|1
1 person listening
Jo Rowlands

A fantastic venue with friendly staff, excellent events for individuals and groups including fantastic outreach work, a great cafe and very interesting exhibitions. Plus, I recently attended a family barn dance and great fun. My teenage niece had really enjoyed folk music week long course over half term and she told me she loved it. Keep up the good work!