A Child's Garden of Verse

Theatre

Drama

Puppet Theatre Barge

Until Sun Sep 28

'A Child’s Garden of Verse'

'A Child’s Garden of Verse'

Not yet rated

Be the first...

 
0

Reviews

Add +

Venue details

MAP CLOSE
  • Name:

    Puppet Theatre Barge

  • Address:

    Puppet Theatre Barge Buccleuch Gardens
    Petersham Rd
    Richmond-on-Thames
    TW10 6UZ

  • Venue phone:

    020 7249 6876

  • Venue website:

    www.puppetbarge.com

  • Transport:

    Tube: Richmond

  • Map

    1. Puppet Theatre Barge
      • Buccleuch Gardens
        Petersham Rd
        Richmond-on-Thames
        TW10 6UZ
      • 020 7249 6876
      • www.puppetbarge.com
      • 51.451004,-0.299392
  • Categories :

    Theatre. Puppetry. Kids' theatre. Fringe. Drama

A Child's Garden of Verse 2014

  • Sep
  • Oct
  • Nov
  • Dec
  • Jan
  • Feb
  • Mar
  • Apr
  • May
  • Jun
  • Jul
  • Aug
  • Date Time Price information
  • Wed Sep 3
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Thu Sep 4
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Fri Sep 5
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Sat Sep 6
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
  • Sun Sep 7
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
  • Mon Sep 8
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Tue Sep 9
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Wed Sep 10
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Thu Sep 11
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Fri Sep 12
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Sat Sep 13
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
  • Sun Sep 14
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
  • Mon Sep 15
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Tue Sep 16
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Wed Sep 17
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Thu Sep 18
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Fri Sep 19
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Sat Sep 20
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
  • Sun Sep 21
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
  • Mon Sep 22
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Tue Sep 23
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Wed Sep 24
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Thu Sep 25
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Fri Sep 26
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
     
     
     
     
  • Sat Sep 27
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50
  • Sun Sep 28
    14:30
    £12, concs £10, child £8.50

Users say

0
<strong>Rating: </strong><span class='lf-avgRating'>0</span>/5

Average User Rating

2 / 5

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star:0
  • 4 star:0
  • 3 star:0
  • 2 star:1
  • 1 star:0
LiveReviews|1
2 people listening
A M

I went to see the Child's Garden of Verse, during the Easer holidays with my children aged 3 and 4.  I am sorry to say that it was greatly disappointing.

As a piece of theatre for an adult and older children's audience, it has its merits, but for younger toddler audiences I feel it was not money well spent at all, despite it being aimed on the Puppet Barge's website at people from 3 years and up.

My children were too young to understand it and were engaged only initially by the novelty of the puppets. They lost interest in the show within the first 15 minutes as did the three toddlers sitting behind us and the two slightly older children in front of us.  Other children in the theatre watched but were distracted, talking to their friends for the most.

There was no laughter at all, or possibility to really connect with the characters. It was not appropriate for 3 year olds and with hindsight, I wish I had taken the children to a different show.