Sadler's Wells

© Morley von Sternberg
Clerkenwell
Purpose-built in 1998 on the site of the original seventeenth-century theatre of the same name, this dazzling complex is home to an impressive line-up of local and international dance talent. While remaining accessible in its programme, Sadler's Wells puts on strong, often critically acclaimed, shows that cover tango, flamenco (watch out for the annual Flamenco Festival), hip hop, classical and contemporary ballet as well as Matthew Bourne's special brand of populist dance. The Angel venue's name dates back to the 1680s when the theatre discovered a medicinal well whose water was said to have health-giving properties. You can still look down the well today, though the days of taking a quick dip before a show are long gone. In addition to the main theatre, the smaller Lilian Baylis Studio offers smaller-scale new works and works in progress, while the Peacock Theatre (on Portugal Street in Holborn) operates as a satellite venue.
Venue name: Sadler's Wells
Contact:
Address: Rosebery Avenue
London
EC1R 4TN
Opening hours: 9am-8.30pm Mon-Sat
Transport: Tube: Angel

Pick a date

to
  • Tuesday May 26 2015 - Sunday May 31 2015
    Read more
  • Contemporary and experimental Tuesday May 26 2015 - Sunday May 31 2015
    Read more
  • Contemporary and experimental Thursday May 28 2015 - Friday May 29 2015
    Read more
  • Thursday June 4 2015 - Saturday June 6 2015
    Read more
  • Folk and ethnic Tuesday June 9 2015 - Saturday June 13 2015
    Read more
  • Tuesday June 9 2015 - Sunday July 12 2015
    Read more
  • Contemporary and experimental Tuesday July 14 2015 - Sunday August 9 2015
    Read more
  • Ballet Tuesday September 1 2015
    Read more

Average User Rating

5 / 5

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star:1
  • 4 star:0
  • 3 star:0
  • 2 star:0
  • 1 star:0
LiveReviews|1
1 person listening
Faye Dawson

THE place to go for the most exceptional and diverse dance in London. I'm always delighted to discover new choreographers here. And the multisave discount makes it even sweeter.