Bruckner Symphony No. 8

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Bruckner Symphony No. 8
More Less
San Diego Symphony says
Jahja Ling, conductor
Yao Zhao, cello

HAYDN: Cello Concerto in C Major, Hob:VIIb:1
BRUCKNER: Symphony No. 8 in C minor (1890 version, Cahis 16)

Of the Austrian composer Anton Bruckner and his Eighth Symphony, a musical contemporary said, "This Symphony is the creation of a Titan, and in spiritual vastness, fertility of ideas and grandeur even surpasses his other symphonies." This description is as true now as it was upon its premiere 125 years ago. Music Director Jahja Ling returns to conduct one of the towering achievements of the German-Austrian symphonic tradition, a work not heard in San Diego for almost 35 years. The concert opens with Franz Joseph Haydn's Cello Concerto in C Major, a work that was lost for 200 years before a near-miraculous rediscovery. Haydn's concerto will be performed by Principal Cello Yao Zhao.

Join us for Nuvi Mehta's highly informative "What's The Score?" pre-concert talk, beginning 45 minutes before downbeat. This presentation is free with your ticket, and takes place inside the concert hall.
More Less

By: San Diego Symphony

To improve this listing email: