This historic pub on the site of a medieval friary boasts a great selection of guest ales.
Built in 1875 on the site of a medieval Dominican friary, the Blackfriar had its interior completely remodelled in the Arts and Crafts style. Now a Nicholson’s, its bright panes, intricate friezes and carved slogans (‘Industry is Ale’, ‘Haste is Slow’) still make a work of art out of the main saloon, adjoined by a prosaic one linked by a marble-topped bar.
Outside, a large terrace faces traffic approaching Blackfriars Bridge, and a tick-box blackboard by the doorway gives notice of the considerable choice of guest ales – Sharp’s Doom Bar, Kelham Best, St Austell, Bateman Victory – that complements the tap Erdinger and Peroni. Wines are reasonably priced and interesting, while food runs from bar bites to Sunday roasts of beef topside.
174 Queen Victoria Street
|Opening hours:||Food served 8am-10pm Mon-Sat; noon-9.30pm Sun. Bar open 10am-11pm Mon-Sat; noon-10.30pm Sun.|
|Transport:||Tube: Blackfriars tube/rail or Mansion House tube|
|Do you own this business?|
Average User Rating
4.8 / 5
- 5 star:3
- 4 star:1
- 3 star:0
- 2 star:0
- 1 star:0