BFI IMAX

Imax cinemas

Cinemas

Southbank

  • BFI IMAX

    BFI IMAX
  • BFI IMAX

    BFI IMAX

    BFI IMAX

BFI IMAX

User ratings:

<strong>Rating: </strong><span class='lf-avgRating'>4</span>/5
Rate this
 
0

Reviews

Add +

Venue details

MAP CLOSE
  • Address:

    BFI IMAX 1 Charlie Chaplin Walk
    London
    SE1 8XR

  • Venue website:

    www.bfi.org.uk/imax

  • Opening hours:

    Ring for times

  • Transport:

    Tube: Waterloo

  • Price:

    Standard prices £7.90, concs £6.50, children (4-14) £4.95, under-threes free

  • Map

    1. BFI IMAX

What's on at BFI IMAX

Filter

Filter

  • Fri Aug 22:

    • 18:00
    • 20:45
    • 23:15
  • Sat Aug 23:

    • 18:00
    • 20:45
    • 23:15
  • Sun Aug 24:

    • 18:00
    • 20:45
  • Mon Aug 25:

    • 20:45
  • Tue Aug 26:

    • 20:45
  • Wed Aug 27:

    • 20:45
  • Thu Aug 28:

    • 20:45

Born To Be Wild 3D

Rating: 4/5

Short enough for junior attention-spans, this nature doc does very well by its modest tapestry. With a typically soothing Morgan Freeman voiceover setting the scene, we shuttle between two wildlife sanctuaries: in Kenya, Dame Daphne Sheldrick cares f...

  • Fri Aug 1:

    • 10:30

Journey To Mecca

Rating: 2/5

One suspects that this gigantiscope outing is the closest the majority of non-Muslims will ever get to seeing Mecca up close. It took 87 permits to allow the 85-strong IMAX team special access to this most sacred monument and, for the viewer, the fin...

  • Mon Aug 4:

    • 10:30

Sea Monsters 3D: A Prehistoric Adventure

This new entertaining and educational IMAX offering from National Geographic delves into the Cretaceous world of marine reptiles and fish – and it’s a pretty fascinating trip. For instance, did you know that Kansas was once submerged beneath a sea ro...

  • Tue Aug 5:

    • 10:30
  • Wed Aug 13:

    • 10:30
  • Mon Aug 18:

    • 10:30
  • Thu Aug 21:

    • 10:30
  • Sat Aug 2:

    • 10:30
  • Fri Aug 8:

    • 10:30
  • Mon Aug 11:

    • 10:30
  • Fri Aug 15:

    • 13:00
  • Mon Aug 18:

    • 13:00
  • Wed Aug 20:

    • 13:00
  • Thu Aug 21:

    • 13:00

Other cinemas nearby

  1. National Film Theatre

    South Bank
    London
    SE1 8XT
    240.8yd
  2. NFT2

    SE1 8XT
    240.8yd
  3. BFI Southbank

    Belvedere Rd
    London
    SE1 8XT
    240.8yd
  4. The Deck

    Upper Ground
    London
    SE1 9PX
    287.7yd

Users say

0
<strong>Rating: </strong><span class='lf-avgRating'>0</span>/5

Average User Rating

3.5 / 5

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star:1
  • 4 star:0
  • 3 star:0
  • 2 star:1
  • 1 star:0
LiveReviews|2
1 person listening
Peter Davies

This should be a great cinema. But it isn't. Finding the entrance is the first challenge. Buying tickets is generally easy and there is a self serve option. But then you have to trek upstairs and you get let in at the bottom of the cinema. You climb interminable steps to get to your seat. The seats themselves are uncomfortable for any length of film except 20 minutes. So not much good then. The only decent seats are at the very top of the auditorium for which you pay a premium. The exit at the end of the film requires you to go up to the back of the auditorium and then take endless winding stairs down. There is a lift if you are clever enough to find it. The loos on the same level as the top of the auditorium are small and over crowded. I have been there for blockbusters and for opera. The screen is great, but not worth the extra cost or discomfort.