• Music
  • Music venues
0 Love It
St Pancras

Opened as a cinema shortly after World War I, the Scala was used briefly to show adult films in the '70s before becoming a live music venue where Iggy Pop and Hawkwind both strutted their stuff. Now one of London's best-loved gig venues, this multi-floored monolith is surprisingly spacious, spread out over four floors with three bars, two dance rooms and a stage for live performance with space for 1,145 people. Scala stages a laudably broad range of indie, electronica, avant hip hop and folk and is a relatively intimate space to catch fast rising acts such as Glasvegas as well as established stars (Stereophonics, Chemical Brothers). Make sure you don't miss the upstairs bar, with its glass windows and panoramic views of the dance floor: it's the perfect place for spotting lost mates in the seething mass below.

Venue name: Scala
Address: 275
Pentonville Rd
King's Cross
N1 9NL
Transport: Tube: King's Cross

Pick a date

  • Rap, hip hop and R&B Wednesday October 7 2015
    Read more
  • Thursday October 8 2015
    Read more
  • Rock and indie Wednesday October 14 2015
    Read more
  • Alternative nightlife Saturday October 17 2015 - Sunday October 18 2015
    Read more
  • Rock and indie Thursday October 22 2015
    Read more
  • Folk, country and blues Wednesday October 28 2015
    Read more
  • Rock and indie Sunday November 1 2015
    Read more
  • Rock and indie Monday November 2 2015
    Read more
  • Wednesday November 4 2015
    Read more
  • Rock and indie Tuesday November 17 2015
    Read more
  • Show more

Average User Rating

4 / 5

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star:0
  • 4 star:1
  • 3 star:0
  • 2 star:0
  • 1 star:0
1 person listening

This is one of the best music venues in London. It's a great size, has an unpretentious atmosphere, and is centrally located. And if you need to get away from the pulsating mass of concertgoers, there's a small space at the back to get a breather.