THE REST IS NOISE Spira Mirabilis: Metamorphosen

  • Music
  • Classical and opera
Critics' choice
0 Love It

Experience Richard Strauss' extraordinary 'Metamorphosen' in a new way. Spira mirabalis, the revolutionary orchestra made up of Europe's finest young musicians that perform without a conductor. Before a complete performance of the work, hear the players take you through examples of their own interpretation of the score. This is followed by a vivid 'The Rest Is Noise' keynote talk that brings alive the cultural landscape of the mid-20th century.

(Written towards the end of the Second World War by a composer who made his mark at the apex of the German Romantic movement, then watched its slow destruction over two world wars in the twentieth century, 'Metamorphosen' is Strauss' searing lament for the cultural world of his youth. 23 solo strings swelling with a rich sense of longing and poignant beauty.)