Coq d'Argent

Restaurants , French Mansion House
Critics' choice
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 4 out of 5 stars
(11 user reviews)
10 Love It
Save it
© Andrew Brackenbury
Book a table

Coq d’Argent is accessed via a private lift, which speedily delivers City suits to a verdant rooftop garden, complete with its own lawn, trailing vines and ringed walkway. In summer, it’s a great choice for alfresco dining, and the location offers striking skyline views across London. Indoor attractions include a circular bar, brasserie and corporate-styled restaurant. Expect regional French cooking, occasionally inspired by forays further afield.

A first course of flavoursome beef carpaccio, topped with lightly pickled wild mushrooms and crunchy garden vegetables, benefited from an umami boost of dried pounded black olives. Crisp-skinned sea bass fillet, jauntily perched over softened, sliced fennel and courgettes, and sauced with a rich saffron-tomato velouté, also worked well as a main. Sadly, though, braised chicken cooked with mushrooms and baby onions was not a success.

Pale, flaccid-skinned chicken, dense mash and an unforgivably oily bread croûte delivered nothing of note. Desserts – tiramisu and roast plums – were OK, but no more. Well-meaning service wasn’t as on-the-ball as expected, but despite misgivings, it’s a buzzy destination of choice for bankers and their clients. And the cooking is decent enough – in parts.


Venue name: Coq d'Argent
Address: No.1 Poultry
Opening hours: Brasserie Lunch served 11.30am-3pm Mon-Fri. Main courses £15-£26. Restaurant Breakfast served 7.30-10am Mon-Fri. Lunch served 11.30am-3pm Mon-Fri; noon-3pm Sun. Brunch served noon-5.30pm Sat. Dinner served 5.30-10pm Mon-Sat
Transport: Tube: Bank
Price: Main courses £19-£37.50. Set lunch (Sun) £25 2 courses, £28 3 courses. Set meal (lunch Mon-Fri; dinner) £26 2 courses, £29 3 courses
Do you own this business?

Average User Rating

3.8 / 5

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star:4
  • 4 star:4
  • 3 star:1
  • 2 star:1
  • 1 star:1
2 people listening
Louise S

One of my favourite places to dine and drink, the rooftop is beautiful the staff are great.  My last visit I had snails for the first time and I really enjoyed them, the food is perfect I highly recommend to everyone!!!!  :) 

The views are fantastic, the service is highly commendable, the food is delicious and the menu is extensive. If you book before 29 August, you can take advantage of a 3 course & champagne offer for £30 but either way, well worth splashing out for an occasion. On a hot day you will have to queue to get up there but even the wait is worth it as it is one of the City’s classiest rooftop venues. It’s at its best in the summer but during winter they turn it into a chalet inspired snow heaven which is just as attractive.
moderatorStaff Writer

Great place to visit when the sun is shining to enjoy one of the best roof top terraces in the city. Be prepared for a pretty stiff bill if you decide to eat here - the food is very good, without being top drawer, and generally the service is as you'd expect for a restaurant claiming to be at the higher end of the market. It can be quite tricky to find the entrance - basically you have to take a small lift up to the restaurant at Poultry - as the lift is small it can get busy and cosy, but the wait is worth it for the views from the rooftop. Booking when the sun is out is absolutely essential.

Sara C

Fantastic setting, meal, atmosphere and service despite being in the heart of the city this is one place where you can have a very civilised meal in pleasant company.


I had reserved a table for 10 for Sunday lunch one month before the date since it was to be a very special occasion. The whole party arrived at 2 pm and all orders were taken by 2. 30 pm. Unfortunately the experience was not a good one, poor service and food. Be careful going as a large group!

There were 5 main problems with our experience:

1. The food arrived 1.5hours after our orders were taken! At 4pm!

2. Only NINE of us actually received our meals at 4pm...the other one waited an extra 15 minutes, only to be told his order had run out and then was given an overcooked small piece of lamb which seemed to be re-used from beforehand. We then saw this same dish being offered to another lady on a different table, who also refused to accept it.

3. From the nine who received their meals, 7 ordered meat dishes with according to the menu should be served with Yorkshire puddings. 3 of the plates were missing ingredients! Only 4 the plates arrived with Yorkshire puddings! When we asked, we were told that there were no more left so they decided to give the Yorkshire puddings to only half of us and leave the other half of the plates empty with just the meat and some vegetables! 

4. The sauce did not arrive with the food, we waited more for this and the meat was not of the expected quality not the full rib eye steak expected, very small pieces.

5. On complaining, the manager response was not very hospitable at all, not understanding and not willing to accept the errors made!

Of course we received some discount off our meal but this does not make up for ruining a special family occasion for which we had higher expectations from such a good reviewed and expensive restaurant. We will not be going there again which is a shame because the location and atmosphere is otherwise very nice.


We wanted something special for our Christmas lunch get together, and affordable. This place was a good choice for that. Really, really lovely, very relaxing and friendly, great buzzy atmosphere. Spacious tables, no banging elbows. The three courses set menu for £29 was very good value - for sublime masterchef food - had a lot of choices, which also included the dish of the day. We all had a different dish, and it was all delicious, all really nicely presented. I had the 63 degree free range British egg, smoked haddock and spinach for the starter, and it was perfection, followed by the almond and cacao nib venison, parsnip puree and amaretto sauce, which was also very tasty. All rounded off with some sublime desserts which included a Christmassy Yule Log. The wines were affordable, we chose the Chenin Blanc at £26 to accompany our meal. They even had gluten free bread when requested. Service was friendly, welcoming and unobtrusive, We had a table near the window, so saw some beautiful views. Would definitely recommend and need to go back when the weather is warmer to dine alfresco on the rooftop terrace. Great place for a special occasion.


This is a great place to hire for company parties or large private functions like weddings. My steel drum band covered a couple of events here and the acoustics are fantastic, the views are stunning, the service is fluent; it ticks most boxes.


I booked this restaurant for a romantic meal with my partner knowing nothing about it. I had seen an offer on toptable for a spring/summer set price menu. When we arrived we were worried there would be too many City types there, there were a few but we were pleasantly surprised as it was very busy with a mixed crowd (possibly because of the offer). The staff were really attentive and the sommelier was very helpful (even when there was a mix-up over the wine we ordered). The spring set menu we had was lovely, although the portions were small, and so was our wine. The wine was very pricey but this is to be expected from this type of restaurant. There was a great terrace which we weren't able to use as the weather was bad but this would offer great views in the summer I'd imagine. All in all we had a great evening so I would recommend it!


Coq d'argent, good for a drink on the terace when the weather is nice, but I wouldn't recommend the restaurant to anyone! My friends ordered foie gras for starters and steak for main, foie gras was nice, but the steak was very dry and cold, the chips were undercooked. I had tuna for starter and coq au vin for main, tasteless, very disappointing! Value for money is an absolute rip off! PS: Really avoid to go if you have any food allergy or are a vegetarian!