Battersea Arts Centre

Theatre , Experimental Battersea
  • 5 out of 5 stars
(3 user reviews)
52 Love It
Save it
Battersea Arts Centre
© Pau Ross

South London's erratic temple of the avant-garde

The forward-thinking Battersea Arts Centre, which inhabits the old Battersea Town Hall, has become synonymous with experimental theatre. Under long-term artistic director David Jubb it's styled itself as home of 'scratch' (work-in-progress) performance, but frequently breaks cover with mini-festivals of finished work and the occasional huge, mad project – notably Punchdrunk's immersive 'Masque of the Red Death', which totally took over the entire theatre for a year. It also fosters strong links with the local community – not least as a venue to get married in – and is popular with comedians as a venue for trialling new work.

It has a constantly festival air, with cheap tickets and a convivial bar that offers a wide selection of beers and decent tapas.

Its occasionally turbulent history has been marked by at least one theatre of closure due to loss of funding, and a dramatic fire in March 2015 that closed large portions of the building.

To the outside eye, however, BAC remains indestructible, with fire damage just another phase in a building that's in constant flux and development. 

Venue name: Battersea Arts Centre
Contact:
Address: Lavender Hill
London
SW11 5TN
Transport: BR: Clapham Junction; Tube: Clapham Common/Stockwell
Do you own this business?

Pick a date

to
  • Drama Wednesday October 5 2016 - Saturday October 8 2016
    Read more
  • Drama Wednesday October 5 2016 - Saturday October 8 2016
    Read more
  • Rap, hip hop and R&B Thursday October 6 2016 - Thursday November 24 2016
    Read more
  • Children's Friday October 7 2016 - Sunday October 16 2016
    Read more
  • West End Monday October 10 2016 - Saturday October 15 2016
    Read more
  • Drama Monday October 10 2016 - Wednesday October 12 2016
    Read more
  • Drama Thursday October 20 2016 - Saturday October 22 2016
    Read more
  • Drama Monday October 24 2016 - Wednesday October 26 2016
    Read more
  • Children's Saturday December 3 2016 - Sunday January 8 2017
    Read more

Average User Rating

5 / 5

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star:3
  • 4 star:0
  • 3 star:0
  • 2 star:0
  • 1 star:0
LiveReviews|3
1 person listening
Bridget G

Battersea Arts Centre is a brilliant theatre that involves young people in creative and fun yet demanding productions. It is doing wonderful work, getting people involved and for people to go and see.

AME
Tastemaker

If I lived in Battersea or Clapham, I would be a regular here. Not only do they have a range of plays, comedy and workshops but they have a super chic bar that serves delicious food and a great range of drinks. It is all so comfortable that I don’t know how people leave. The staff are friendly and relaxed and the atmosphere is social but not your pub kind of ‘rowdy’ or ‘in your face’. Battersea’s cultural gem!