Hen and Chickens Theatre

Theatre Canonbury
  • 4 out of 5 stars
(1 user review)
1 Love It
Save it
This dinky, black box theatre (seating only 54) above a cosy Victorian corner pub in Islington is well known as the place to see great solo comedy shows, especially those warming up for a tour. Acts have included the likes of Jimmy Carr, Frankie Boyle and Rhona Cameron.
Venue name: Hen and Chickens Theatre
Contact:
Address: 109 St Paul's Rd
Highbury Corner
N1 2NA
Transport: Tube: Highbury & Islington
Do you own this business?

Pick a date

to
  • Comedy Until Saturday December 10 2016
    Read more
  • Stand-up Sunday December 11 2016
    Read more
  • Improv Friday December 16 2016
    Read more
  • Sketch shows Saturday December 17 2016
    Read more
  • Improv Wednesday January 11 2017 - Friday January 13 2017
    Read more
  • Contemporary theatre Tuesday January 17 2017 - Saturday January 21 2017
    Read more
  • Contemporary theatre Sunday January 29 2017
    Read more
  • Monday January 30 2017
    Read more
  • Stand-up Thursday March 9 2017 - Friday March 24 2017
    Read more

Average User Rating

4 / 5

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star:0
  • 4 star:1
  • 3 star:0
  • 2 star:0
  • 1 star:0
LiveReviews|1
1 person listening
O. Gordon

I'm normally pretty 'up' on my fringe venues but the Hen and Chickens Theatre had slipped me by until recently. It follows a tried and tested fringe set up and once in the theatre, you'd be hard pushed to distinguish it from any others. Saying that, the space seems to be well laid out if a little lacking in versatility. The pub below is quite small (compared to, say, the Etcetera in Camden) which limits the noise drifting up during performances times. Although there are inevitably some patrons who just want to booze, it does seem that most are there for the theatre. Staff were polite, beers were well priced and the show was good. I'd go back.