Off-West End theatre

Think beyond theatreland with our guide to London's best off-West End theatre

0

Comments

Add +

London's off-West End theatre scene is a bustling, vibrant hub of new shows and revivals all performed at subsidised theatres. Here’s Time Out’s guide, including reviews, tickets and theatre information for the off-West End shows that even the most traditional theatre-goer would be sorry to miss.

Central London off-West End theatre

A Streetcar Named Desire

  • Rated as: 4/5
  • Critics choice
  1. Young Vic The Cut, SE1 8LZ
  2. Tue Sep 2 - Fri Sep 19
More info

The Lion

  • Rated as: 4/5
  • Critics choice
  1. St James Theatre 12 Palace St, SW1E 5JA
  2. Tue Sep 2 - Sun Sep 7
More info

Forbidden Broadway

  • Rated as: 5/5
  • Critics choice
  1. Vaudeville Theatre 404 The Strand, WC2R 0NH
  2. Tue Sep 9 - Sat Nov 22
More info

My Night With Reg

  • Rated as: 4/5
  • Critics choice
  1. Donmar Warehouse 41 Earlham St, WC2H 9LX
  2. Tue Sep 2 - Sat Sep 27
More info
More central London Off-West End theatre

East London off-West End theatre

The Boy Who Climbed Out of His Face

  • Rated as: 4/5
  • Critics choice
  1. The Jetty Greenwich Peninsula, SE10 0ER
  2. Tue Sep 2 - Sun Sep 28
Buy tickets

Spoiling

  • Rated as: 2/5
  1. Theatre Royal Stratford East Gerry Raffles Square, Stratford, E15 1BN
  2. Wed Sep 3 - Sat Sep 13
More info
  1. Arcola Theatre 24 Ashwin St, E8 3DL
  2. Tue Sep 2 - Sat Sep 6
More info

Little Stitches

  • Rated as: 3/5
  1. Walthamstow Library High Street, E17 7JN
  2. Fri Sep 5
More info
More east London Off-West End theatre

North London off-West End theatre

Toast

  • Rated as: 4/5
  1. Park Theatre Clifton Terrace, N4 3JP
  2. Tue Sep 2 - Sun Sep 21
Buy tickets
  1. Almeida Theatre Almeida Street, Islington, N1 1TA
  2. Tue Sep 2 - Sat Oct 4
More info
  1. Park Theatre Clifton Terrace, N4 3JP
  2. Tue Sep 2 - Sun Sep 28
Buy tickets
  1. Roundhouse Chalk Farm Rd, NW1 8EH
  2. Sat Dec 13 - Sun Jan 4
More info
More north London Off-West End theatre

South London off-West End theatre

A Streetcar Named Desire

  • Rated as: 4/5
  • Critics choice
  1. Young Vic The Cut, SE1 8LZ
  2. Tue Sep 2 - Fri Sep 19
More info

My Perfect Mind

  • Rated as: 4/5
  • Critics choice
  1. Young Vic The Cut, SE1 8LZ
  2. Tue Sep 2 - Sat Sep 27
More info

Dogfight

  • Rated as: 2/5
  1. Southwark Playhouse Newington Causeway, SE1 6BD
  2. Tue Sep 2 - Sat Sep 13
More info

Happy Days

  • Rated as: 4/5
  • Critics choice
  1. Young Vic The Cut, SE1 8LZ
  2. Fri Feb 13 - Sat Mar 21
More info
More south London Off-West End theatre

West London off-West End theatre

Visitors

  • Rated as: 4/5
  • Critics choice
  1. Bush Theatre 7 Uxbridge Rd, W12 8LJ
  2. Wed Nov 26 - Sat Jan 10
More info
  1. Lyric Hammersmith Lyric Square, King Street, W6 0QL
  2. Fri Nov 14 - Wed Dec 31
More info
  1. Lyric Hammersmith Lyric Square, King Street, W6 0QL
  2. Sat Sep 20
More info
  1. Bush Theatre 7 Uxbridge Rd, W12 8LJ
  2. Fri Sep 12 - Sat Oct 25
More info
More west London Off-West End theatre

See more budding classics in London's fringe theatres

The fringe is the lifeblood of London's theatre scene, a world of tiny, unsubsidised theatres that offers everything from revivals of rare musicals to the West End hits of tomorrow. Here’s Time Out’s guide, including fringe reviews, fringe listings and links to London’s key fringe theatres.
Visit our guide to London's fringe theatre


Users say

0 comments

Book theatre tickets

Find more great theatre in London

West End theatre

Want to see a West End show, but not sure which one? Or just after a good deal on tickets? We've got it all right here.
Read more

London musicals

Time Out brings you news, up-to-date reviews and discounted tickets in its comprehensive guide to all London’s musicals.
Read more

More from the Time Out Theatre team