Timeout New York Kids

Make the most of your city

Spring fairs and festivals for NYC kids

Warm up at fine-weather fests in all five boroughs.

Sunday May 22

Farm in the City Fair
Sun May 22 10am--1pm. 14th Street Y, 344 E 14th St between First and Second Aves (212-780-0800, 14streety.org). Subway: L to First Ave. Ticket prices vary.
Kids can dress up in their finest farmer gear for this day of down-home fun. There will be carnival games, face painting, live music, a hoedown, potato sack races and market stands with produce and other fresh fare. Ages 1 to 6.

FREE  The Epiphany School's Annual Spring Carnival
Sun May 22 11am--3pm. Epiphany School, 373 Second Ave between 21st and 22nd Sts (epiphanyfamilyassociation.org). Subway: 6 to 23rd St. Admission is free, but tickets are required for food and activities.
Kids can hit up moonwalk houses and inflatable slides, play with silly string and undertake other wacky adventures. When they need a break (ha!), they can snack on delish fair food. All ages.

FREE Drums Along the Hudson
Sun May 22 11am--6pm. Inwood Hill Park, Indian Rd at 218th St (212-627-1076, drumsalongthehudson.org). Subway: 1 to 215th St.
Head uptown to see Manhattan's only open-air powwow, produced by Lotus Music and Dance. Spend the day checking out the renowned Thunderbird Native American Dancers and other troupes, and sampling tasty cuisine. All ages.

FREE 8th Annual Mamapalooza Extravaganza
Sun May 22 11am--5pm. Pier 1, Riverside Park South, W 66th St at the Hudson River, enter the park at 68th St (212-408-0219, mamapalooza.com). Subway: 1 to 66th St--Lincoln Ctr; 1, 2, 3 to 72nd St.
Family-friendly bands including the Anna Banana Band (led by Music for Aardvarks bassist Anna Bohichik) warm up the kiddie crowd for a Gymboree play tent, environmental demos, children's-wear vendors and more. Since this is a celebration of motherhood, have Dad watch the kids and let Mom enjoy poetry readings, art shows, film screenings and comedy from the Funniest Mom in America finalists. All ages.

Find events on...

Saturday April 9 | Sunday April 10 | Saturday April 16
Saturday April 23 | Saturday April 30 | Sunday May 1 | Saturday May 7
Saturday May 14 | Sunday May 15 | Saturday May 21 | Sunday May 22 | Saturday May 28

Share your thoughts
  1. * mandatory fields