Timeout New York Kids

Make the most of your city

Spring fairs and festivals for NYC kids

Warm up at fine-weather fests in all five boroughs.

Saturday April 16

Historic Richmond Town Chili Cook-Off
Sat Apr 16 11am--4pm. Historic Richmond Town, 441 Clarke Ave at St. Patricks Pl, Staten Island (718-351-1611, historicrichmondtown.org) Travel: From the Staten Island Ferry, take the S74 bus to St. Patricks Pl. $9, children under 18 $5.
Members of the International Chili Society compete in three culinary categories—traditional chili, green chili and salsa—and guests get to sample the entres. All attendees receive a personal tasting kit with instructions on how to vote for the People's Choice award. Chili leave the kids cold? No worries: Rides, games, crafts, a chicken-wing-eating contest and live entertainment are on the lineup as well. All ages.
FREE GetGreen South Bronx Earth Fest
Sat Apr 16 noon--4pm. St Mary's Park, enter at St. Ann's Ave and 147th St, Bronx (grownyc.org). Subway: 2, 5 to 149th St--Third Ave.
In addition to art projects, a recycled-clothing fashion show, and hip-hop and dance battles, families will find plenty of info about recycling, sustainability and other green initiatives in the neighborhood. All ages.

Find events on...

Saturday April 9 | Sunday April 10 | Saturday April 16
Saturday April 23 | Saturday April 30 | Sunday May 1 | Saturday May 7
Saturday May 14 | Sunday May 15 | Saturday May 21 | Sunday May 22 | Saturday May 28

Share your thoughts
  1. * mandatory fields