Call Members Of The House Committee On State Affairs Committee And Ask Them To Oppose Hb 3074

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Call Members Of The House Committee On State Affairs Committee And Ask Them To Oppose Hb 3074
More Less
Texas Right to Life says
Advocates for LIFE are needed to make calls this week against House Bill 3074.
Read bill here: http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/pdf/HB03074I.pdf#navpanes=0

HB 3074 is a misguided attempt at a small reform to the Texas Advance Directive Law. HB 3074 only appears to prohibit the withdrawal of food and hydration from patients, but the bill offers 5 exceptions under which hospital ethics committees can actually withdraw food and water—even if the patient and his family are requesting this life-sustaining care. The exceptions are so broadly-written and subjective that the hospital committee can withdraw food and water, called “artificially administered nutrition and hydration” or “AANH” in HB 3074, as they find appropriate.

The Texas Advance Directive Law needs reforms and patient protections. HB 3074 offers neither and only strengthens current law that authorizes hospital ethics committees to impose quality of life value judgments on patients.

Even more subversive, the bill is being marketed as pro-life! For more information, click here: http://txr.tl/Tvq


The Texas House Committee on State Affairs needs to hear from YOU!

Join Texas Right to Life in opposing this loophole-ridden legislation as drafted by calling or emailing the offices of the committee members. Respectfully ask them to close the vote against HB 3074 or close these dangerous quality of life exceptions.

Call your state representative and ask him or her to ask colleagues on the State Affairs Committee to oppose HB 3074.

Or call the members of the Committee on State Affairs directly:

Chairman Byron Cook, Byron.Cook@house.state.tx.us, (512) 463-0730
Rep. Helen Giddings, Helen.Giddings@house.state.tx.us, (512) 463-0953
Rep. Tom Craddick, Tom.Craddick@house.state.tx.us, (512) 463-0500
Rep. Marsha Farney, Marsha.Farney@house.state.tx.us, (512) 463-0309
Rep. Jessica Farrar, Jessica.Farrar@house.state.tx.us, (512) 463-0620
Rep. Charlie Geren, Charlie.Geren@house.state.tx.us, (512) 463-0610
Rep. Patricia Harless, Patricia.Harless@house.state.tx.us, (512) 463-0496
Rep. Dan Huberty, Dan.Huberty@house.state.tx.us, (512) 463-0520
Rep. John Kuempel, John.Kuempel@house.state.tx.us, (512) 463-0602
Rep. René Oliveira, Rene.Oliveira@house.state.tx.us, (512) 463-0640
Rep. John T. Smithee, John.Smithee@house.state.tx.us, (512) 463-0702
Rep. Sylvester Turner, Sylvester.Turner@house.state.tx.us, (512) 463-0554


Please invite your pro-life friends to this event and ask them to join our efforts to fix this bill.
More Less

By: Texas Right to Life

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/1580067448945029
To improve this listing email: feedback@timeout.com