Circus Maximus Tenth Anniversary: A Corigliano Tribute

0 Love It
Save it
Circus Maximus Tenth Anniversary: A Corigliano Tribute

The content on this page is provided by a Time Out partner.

I would like you to know about a very special performance to be held on the campus of The University of Texas at Austin on Friday, February 20 at 8:00 p.m. Pultizer Prize, Academy Award and Grawemeyer Award winning composer John Corigliano will be in residence for a concert of his music with The University of Texas Wind Ensemble. The concert will conclude with Circus Maximus: Symphony for large wind ensemble. This master work, composed for the UT Wind Ensemble, surrounds the audience with performers positioned throughout the hall, enveloping the listener in a true “surround sound” experience. This performance will mark the tenth anniversary of the world premiere which took place in the same hall February 16, 2005, and was repeated a week later in Carnegie Hall. Since then, the piece has been performed throughout the world (having just received it’s Japan premiere last month by the Tokyo Philharmonic). The concert will open with Tournaments Overture, an early work from 1965, but performed in a new transcription by Dr. Christopher Anderson. Closing the first half of the concert will be the world premiere performance of the wind ensemble version of Corigliano’s Clarinet Concerto. Originally written for Stanley Drucker and the New York Philharmonic, the Concerto has become one of staples of the clarinet concerto repertoire and is a thrilling piece to witness in a rare live performance. With its antiphonal musicians in the hall, it makes a perfect pairing with Circus Maximus. DMA candidate in conducting Craig Davis created the amazing transcription and will conduct the performance of the Concerto. DMA candidate in clarinet Nicholas Councilor will be the soloist. It is our hope that many of you will be able to attend, and bring your students with you. Student tickets, for non-UT students, are eligible for a special ticket price for $5 each. These tickets will be available until February 10, after which the non UT students price will increase to $10 each. Tickets may be purchased through the following website below. We encourage you to purchase them early, as we expect a large audience for what we feel will be a memorable night. We hope to see you and your students the evening of February 20 in Bass Concert Hall. The entire program will be as follows: John Corigliano, trans. Christopher Anderson – Tournaments Overture John Corigliano, trans. Craig B. Davis – Clarinet Concerto I. Cadenzas II. Elegy III. Antiphonal Toccata Nicholas Councilor, clarinet Craig B. Davis, conductor World Premiere of the Wind Ensemble version Intermission John Corigliano - Circus Maximus, Symphony No. 3 for Large Wind Ensemble I. Introit II. Screen / Siren III. Channel Surfing IV. Night Music 1 V. Night Music 2 VI. Circus Maximus VII. Prayer VIII. Veritas Celebrating the 10th anniversary of the premiere performance Friday, February 20, Bass Concert Hall, 8:00 p.m.

By: The University of Texas Wind Ensemble

Event website:
To improve this listing email: