Discussion: Fates & Furies By Lauren Groff

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Discussion: Fates & Furies By Lauren Groff
More Less
The event creator says
ABOUT THE BOOK:
A dazzling examination of a marriage, it is also a portrait of creative partnership written by one of the best writers of her generation. Every story has two sides. Every relationship has two perspectives. And sometimes, it turns out, the key to a great marriage is not its truths but its secrets. At the core of this rich, expansive, layered novel, Lauren Groff presents the story of one such marriage over the course of twenty-four years. At age twenty-two, Lotto and Mathilde are tall, glamorous, madly in love, and destined for greatness. A decade later, their marriage is still the envy of their friends, but with an electric thrill we understand that things are even more complicated and remarkable than they have seemed. With stunning revelations and multiple threads, and in prose that is vibrantly alive and original, Groff delivers a deeply satisfying novel about love, art, creativity, and power that is unlike anything that has come before it. Profound, surprising, propulsive, and emotionally riveting, it stirs both the mind and the heart.

BOOKSELLER BUZZ:
"I was completely absorbed by this novel. Groff's linguistic rhythm is entrancing. Her sentences beat like waves, pulling the reader deep into Mathilde and Lotto's complicated, passionate relationship. Sweeping across decades of their marriage, told first from the husband's perspective, then the wife's, this story sinks the reader into the shifting romance, nuanced loyalty, bold secrets, private masks, and willful misconceptions that make up a long time union. The lives of her characters are rich mysteries uncovered in surprising turns. How well can you ever know your beloved? In Fates and Furies, we are lucky to be voyeurs to both versions of Mathilde and Lotto's life together. Fans of Claire Messud and Ann Beattie will enjoy the dark, literary arches of this engrossing tale. "
— Julie W.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Lauren Groff was born in Cooperstown, New York, which is the model for "Templeton," her novel's setting. Groff's short stories have appeared in publications including "The Atlantic Monthly," "Ploughshares" and "The Best American Short Stories" and "Pushcart Prize" anthologies. She lives in Gainesville, Florida.

You can purchase this book here: http://www.bookpeople.com/book/9781594634475
Please type "for New & Noteworthy book club" in the comments section at checkout (or tell your cashier this is for the New & Noteworthy book club if you are planning to purchase in store) for 10% off!
More Less
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/1530009860646162
To improve this listing email: feedback@timeout.com
LiveReviews|0
1 person listening