March 2016 Ctra Meeting

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
March 2016 Ctra Meeting
More Less
The event creator says
Friends and MEMBERS of CTRA

Since I was honored to be elected the President of the Central Texas Republican Assembly I have held fast to having a meeting every month on the 3rd Thursday of every month at the Texas Land and Cattle on MOPAC. Never changing the day and never changing the venue.

Due to circumstances beyond my control we have to change the day this month to not the 3rd Thursday but to the 4th Thursday. Texas Land and Cattle was able to move some things around on their calendar to allow us to use the room yet again!

So the meeting is the 24th NOT the 17th.


At last month’s meeting I broke rules and went against the By-Laws and we elected two new members of the board when the By-Laws state that we should have only elected one member of the board. So the present board has set aside that election (or nullified that election whatever the correct wording should be).

It is my intention with the will of the membership to make a By-Law change on the 24th growing the size of the board from 7 to 8.

When that is accomplished, I intend on having elections of 2 slots and putting Mark Pulliam and Jan Duncan name in to nominations to be CTRA Board members.

We also elected Charlene Morris last meeting to be the Secretary but that election was proper so her election is not in question and she is the Secretary until the end of this boards term which ends December 31st 2016!


The March 1st Primaries are over and there are a number of run-off candidates that CTRA should consider endorsing in the run-offs. At a minimum we should attempt to get an endorsement in the SD-24 race between Susan King and Dawn Buckingham, and HD-73 Representative Doug Miller and Kyle Biedermann.

Additionally I have asked the President of TXRA if we could endorse in the three state wide run-off races Railroad Commissioner between Gary Gates and Wayne Christian, Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals Place 2, Mary Lou Keel and Ray Wheless, Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals Place 5, Scott Walker and Brent Webster!

TXRA rules say we can’t because they cross assembly lines but since it is a run-off and TXRA is not going to have another endorsement convention I have asked for approval from TXRA.

We will be doing these endorsements on the 3rd Thursday of April but I am hopeful that these candidates will come and ask for our endorsement, this month!

Additionally I had Amy Clark whose is running for Vice Chair of the RPT and Toni Anne Dashell who is running for National Committeewoman scheduled for our 3rd Thursday and I will try to get them to come on the 4th Thursday.

I am also trying to get some legal experts to come and discuss election law on the county level!

TJ Scott
President Central Texas Republican Assembly
Precinct Chairman, Travis County Precinct 0358

4502 Clarno Drive
Austin, Texas 78749
(512) 627-6979
More Less
To improve this listing email: