Qso Plays Ravel | Maestro Series

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Qso Plays Ravel | Maestro Series
More Less
Qso Plays Ravel | Maestro Series says
#QSO2016 | A program of crystalline symphonies and two of the most vibrant and atmospheric scores of the twentieth century.

Conductor: Rory Macdonald
Piano: Louis Schwizgebel (Australian debut)

Prokofiev: 'Classical Symphony'
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G
Haydn: Symphony No.88
Stravinsky: 'Firebird' Suite (1919 version)

QSO brings the gifted Louis Schwizgebel to Brisbane with Ravel’s jazz inspired rhythms, colourful palette and one of the most meltingly beautiful slow movements in all concerto repertoire. In a majestic finale to a sublime evening, Stravinsky’s great early masterpiece Firebird will mesmerise and enchant with its exotic tale of magic and fairytales, perfumed textures and extraordinary harmonies.

“Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G major was a thrilling highlight of the evening, Louis Schwizgebel impressively capturing both the sublime melancholy of the second movement and the joviality of the first and third.” ★★★★ - THE LATEST MAGAZINE
More Less

By: Queensland Symphony Orchestra

1 person listening