Tex Perkins (Beasts Of Bourbon) And Murray Patterson At The Bearded Lady

Things to do
Tex Perkins (Beasts Of Bourbon) And Murray Patterson At The Bearded Lady
More Less
Tex Perkins (Beasts Of Bourbon) And Murray Patterson At The Bearded Lady says
Tex Perkins has played a key role in Australian music & it’s understandably difficult to pull together a coherent picture of a man whose career has taken in everything from the groundbreaking experimental punktonica of Sydney mid-80s noiseniks Thug to the lilting, dark country of his recent material with the Dark Horses.

From the hard edged pub rock of the Beasts Of Bourbon’s, a snarling slice of filthy pub rock to the evocative soundscapes of The Cruel Sea, whose extraordinary 1991 single ‘This Is Not The Way Home’ placed Perkins’ world-weary growl in a new
musical context and heralded the emergence of an entirely original yet archetypically Australian sound.

Let’s talk about the Tex, Don & Charlie albums, which saw Perkins joining forces with the legendary Don Walker, Cold Chisel’s pianist and master songwriter, and Charlie Owen, previously Australia’s best kept musical secret. Or the TNT project, where he and contemporary Tim Rogers celebrated their long-term friendship with a little tongue-in- cheek. And then there are the The Dark Horses albums.

Murray Paterson is an Australian songwriter and musician most notable for his collaborations with Tex Perkins Among his compositions are: Fine Mess and Ice in the Sun from the Tex Perkins album Dark Horses; Lucid, Midnight Sunshine and A Name on Every One from the Tex Perkins’ Dark Horses album Sweet Nothing; Paycheques and Someday I’ll Forget from the Tex, Don and Charlie album All is Forgiven. He also contributed I Miss Your Big White Bum to the Joel Silbersher album Greasy Lens.

Paterson and Perkins co-scored the soundtrack for the film Beautiful Kate, the directorial feature debut from Rachel Ward. With Perkins he received an ARIA nomination in 2009 for Best Original Soundtrack/Cast/Show Album for the soundtrack.

Paterson contributed significantly to 2011 self-titled release Tex Perkins and the Dark Horses and Everyones Alone in 2012, and most recently Tunnel At The End Of The Light in 2015
More Less

By: The Bearded Lady