The Deaf Institute Cafe Bar & Music Hall

Music, Music venues Chorlton upon Medlock
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 out of 5 stars
(1user review)
0 Love It
Save it
The Deaf Institute, Manchester, Gig
1/2
The Deaf Institute, Manchester, Crowd
2/2

A live music destination hosting gigs and themed club nights, where DJs spin crowd-pleasing hits from decades gone by

Yes, it’s a curious name for a live music venue, but The Deaf Institute is a great new use for what was once, in less enlightened times, a deaf and dumb school.

Another venue in the Trof empire (see Gorilla and Albert Hall), the ground floor offers space for drinking and dining, while upstairs there's a music hall with space for a few hundred people.

Along with live acts, regular club nights keep the crowds coming. Now established as some of the most entertaining nights in town, the likes of Girls On Film on the first Saturday of the month brings ’80s hits from the likes of Duran Duran, Blondie and The Smiths, while those who prefer to stomp to a ’60s beat can enjoy Hendrix, The Doors and Aretha at Revolver on the third Saturday of the month.

By: Rob Martin

Posted:

Venue name: The Deaf Institute Cafe Bar & Music Hall
Contact:
Address: 135 Grosvenor Street
Manchester
M1 7HE
Do you own this business?

Pick a date

to
  • Pop and rock Until Sunday December 24 2017
  • Hip hop and R&B Tuesday May 30 2017 - Wednesday May 31 2017
  • Rock and indie Wednesday May 31 2017
  • Dance and electronic Friday June 2 2017
  • Rock and indie Saturday June 3 2017
  • Rock and indie Tuesday June 6 2017
  • Rock and indie Wednesday June 7 2017
  • Folk, country and blues Thursday June 8 2017
  • Funk and soul Friday June 9 2017 - Saturday June 10 2017
  • Pop Sunday June 11 2017
  • Show more
LiveReviews|1
NaN people listening
Rebecca Sharp

The Deaf Institute is definitely my choice of club should the night call for it. The music tends to be recognisable but just on the right side of cheesy and suits more alternative tastes than regular student clubs.