Mr. Oong Kah At 75

0 Love It
Save it
Mr. Oong Kah At 75

The content on this page is provided by a Time Out partner.

fEARnoMUSIC presents the Portland area's first ever retrospective of Louis Andreissen. Through generous grants from RACC and The Oregon Community Foundation, fEARnoMUSIC will present a retrospective of Dutch composer Louis Andriessen’s music, in celebration of his 75th birthday. fEARnoMUSIC’s concert will feature perhaps his best known work, the infamously riotous Workers Union (1975), a sonic assault scored “for any loud sounding instruments,” in the spirit of a political uprising. In contrast, the concert will include three rarely heard solo works: Woodpecker (1975) for percussion, La Voce (1981) for cello, and Image de Moreau (1999) for piano, as well as the grooving violin-piano duo Disco (1982). Ending the concert will be perhaps the evening’s biggest novelty: the Oregon premiere of Andriessen’s wildly inventive Symphony for Open Strings (1978), in which twelve solo string players are asked to each retune their strings to a different tuning. Performed exclusively on these altered open strings, the work is hauntingly original, at times evoking some kind of eerie crank organ or hurdy-gurdy. For this unique event, the fEARnoMUSIC musicians have handpicked their advanced students from the area to perform alongside them.


Event website:
To improve this listing email: