Sweep Trash, Not People Council Meeting On Encampment Legis.

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Sweep Trash, Not People   Council Meeting On Encampment Legis.
More Less
VOCAL - Washington says
On September 22nd, the Seattle City Council will begin discussions on the proposed encampment legislation (Council Bill 118794: Legislation to support safety, health, and respect for ALL neighbors and neighborhoods)

Please make sure to attend the meeting and provide public comment if you are able. Advocates are calling for City Council to take action on legislation that would improve community health and safety for all. The legislation sets up a more reasonable and fair process, clarifying when, where, and how the city can undertake a “sweep” and requires a 30-day process to notify and offer services to people living in an encampment prior to a "sweep." When it is not possible to avoid taking personal property, the proposal sets up a more thorough system for documenting and storing people's belongings. Join VOCAL-WA and others in telling the Seattle City Council to sweep trash not people and express your support for the legislation!

PLEASE NOTE:

It is incredibly important that we let Council members know that we support this legislation. PLEASE EMAIL OR CALL the Council members and let them know that you support Council Bill 118794: Legislation to support safety, health, and respect for ALL neighbors and neighborhoods . All of their contact information is below:

Lisa Herbold: lisa.herbold@seattle.gov, 206-684-8803
Bruce Harrell: bruce.harrell@seattle.gov, 206-684-8804
Kshama Sawant: kshama.sawant@seattle.gov, 206-684-8016
Rob Johnson: rob.johnson@seattle.gov, 206-684-8808
Debora Juarez: debora.juarez@seattle.gov, 206-684-8805
Mike O'Brien: mike.obrien@seattle.gov, 206-684-8800
Sally Bagshaw: sally.bagshaw@seattle.gov, 206-684-8801
Tim Burgess: tim.burgess@seattle.gov, 206-684-8806
Lorena González: lorena.gonzalez@seattle.gov, 206-684-8802
More Less

By: VOCAL - Washington

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/339061653114598
To improve this listing email: feedback@timeout.com