BFI IMAX

Imax cinemas

Cinemas

Southbank

  • BFI IMAX

    BFI IMAX
  • BFI IMAX

    BFI IMAX

    BFI IMAX

BFI IMAX

User ratings:

<strong>Rating: </strong><span class='lf-avgRating'>4</span>/5
Rate this
 
0

Reviews

Add +

Venue details

MAP CLOSE
  • Address:

    BFI IMAX 1 Charlie Chaplin Walk
    London
    SE1 8XR

  • Venue website:

    www.bfi.org.uk/imax

  • Opening hours:

    Ring for times

  • Transport:

    Tube: Waterloo

  • Price:

    Standard prices £7.90, concs £6.50, children (4-14) £4.95, under-threes free

  • Map

    1. BFI IMAX

What's on at BFI IMAX

Filter

Filter

  • Fri Aug 22:

    • 18:00
    • 20:45
    • 23:15
  • Sat Aug 23:

    • 18:00
    • 20:45
    • 23:15
  • Sun Aug 24:

    • 18:00
    • 20:45
  • Mon Aug 25:

    • 20:45
  • Tue Aug 26:

    • 20:45
  • Wed Aug 27:

    • 20:45
  • Thu Aug 28:

    • 20:45

Born To Be Wild 3D

Rating: 4/5

Short enough for junior attention-spans, this nature doc does very well by its modest tapestry. With a typically soothing Morgan Freeman voiceover setting the scene, we shuttle between two wildlife sanctuaries: in Kenya, Dame Daphne Sheldrick cares f...

  • Fri Aug 1:

    • 10:30

Sea Monsters 3D: A Prehistoric Adventure

This new entertaining and educational IMAX offering from National Geographic delves into the Cretaceous world of marine reptiles and fish – and it’s a pretty fascinating trip. For instance, did you know that Kansas was once submerged beneath a sea ro...

  • Tue Aug 5:

    • 10:30

How to Train Your Dragon 2

Rating: 3/5

This follow-up to the 2010 animated hit flies into cinemas on the back of an enormous amount of goodwill toward its teen hero, Hiccup, and his tamed winged beast, Toothless. It’s five years later now, and the story sees a more stubbly Hiccup (voiced...

  • Wed Jul 30:

    • 14:15

Transformers: Age of Extinction

Rating: 3/5

In 2013 Michael Bay tried to make a real movie: the underrated ‘Pain & Gain’, a Miami crime comedy with actual performances and a satirical bite. He was mocked. So it feels like Bay has returned to his normal beat – big robots, explosions and tush sh...

  • Wed Jul 30:

    • 17:00
    • 20:45

Under the Sea 3D

Rating: 4/5

Howard Hall’s sub-aquatic 3D trip opens with one of the most effective IMAX sequences yet: a static shot of a calm lagoon so lifelike you might feel the urge to dip your toes. Then the camera dives beneath the surface and we’re presented with a kalei...

  • Wed Jul 30:

    • 10:30
  • Tue Aug 12:

    • 10:30

Guardians of the Galaxy

Rating: 4/5

To misquote Forrest Gump’s mother, ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ is like a box of chocolates. Or rather, it’s like a vast, family-sized festive crate of chocolates, all wrapped in the shiniest packaging, all exploding with sweetness and surprises. Maybe...

  • Thu Jul 31:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
    • 23:59
  • Fri Aug 1:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
    • 23:59
  • Sat Aug 2:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
    • 23:59
  • Sun Aug 3:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
  • Mon Aug 4:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
  • Tue Aug 5:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
  • Wed Aug 6:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
  • Thu Aug 7:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
  • Fri Aug 8:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
    • 23:59
  • Sat Aug 9:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
    • 23:59
  • Sun Aug 10:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
  • Mon Aug 11:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
  • Tue Aug 12:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
  • Wed Aug 13:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
  • Thu Aug 14:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
  • Fri Aug 15:

    • 14:30
    • 17:30
    • 20:30
  • Sat Aug 16:

    • 12:00
    • 15:00
    • 18:00
    • 21:00
  • Sun Aug 17:

    • 11:00
    • 14:00
    • 17:00
    • 20:00
  • Mon Aug 18:

    • 14:30
    • 17:30
    • 20:30
  • Tue Aug 19:

    • 14:30
    • 17:30
    • 20:30
  • Wed Aug 20:

    • 14:30
    • 17:30
    • 20:30
  • Thu Aug 21:

    • 14:30
    • 17:30
    • 20:30
  • Sun Aug 3:

    • 10:30
  • Sat Aug 9:

    • 10:30
  • Wed Aug 20:

    • 10:30

Other cinemas nearby

  1. National Film Theatre

    South Bank
    London
    SE1 8XT
    240.8yd
  2. BFI Southbank

    Belvedere Rd
    London
    SE1 8XT
    240.8yd
  3. NFT2

    SE1 8XT
    240.8yd
  4. The Deck

    Upper Ground
    London
    SE1 9PX
    287.7yd

Users say

0
<strong>Rating: </strong><span class='lf-avgRating'>0</span>/5

Average User Rating

3.5 / 5

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star:1
  • 4 star:0
  • 3 star:0
  • 2 star:1
  • 1 star:0
LiveReviews|2
1 person listening
Peter Davies

This should be a great cinema. But it isn't. Finding the entrance is the first challenge. Buying tickets is generally easy and there is a self serve option. But then you have to trek upstairs and you get let in at the bottom of the cinema. You climb interminable steps to get to your seat. The seats themselves are uncomfortable for any length of film except 20 minutes. So not much good then. The only decent seats are at the very top of the auditorium for which you pay a premium. The exit at the end of the film requires you to go up to the back of the auditorium and then take endless winding stairs down. There is a lift if you are clever enough to find it. The loos on the same level as the top of the auditorium are small and over crowded. I have been there for blockbusters and for opera. The screen is great, but not worth the extra cost or discomfort.