Foo Fighters



Add +

Time Out Ratings :

<strong>Rating: </strong>3/5

Dave Grohl’s Foo Fighters have been churning out uniformly solid modern-rock records for so long that assertions of the band’s dependability have become as dependable as the music itself. For proof, try to find a review of the new Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace that doesn’t mention Grohl’s journeyman status. (We’re doing our part!) What’s surprising about Echoes—a record that otherwise offers little in the surprise department—is that the Foos’ sure-shot reliability hasn’t yet sapped their music of its excitement. Though there’s nothing here as thrilling as “Everlong” or “My Hero,” most of these 12 tunes still pack a punch powerful enough to inspire fist-pumping from fans of both Nickelback and My Chemical Romance—whose scene Grohl pokes good-hearted fun at in “Cheer Up, Boys (Your Make-Up Is Running).” Like 2005’s In Your Honor, which contained an entire disc of acoustic material, Echoes also shows off Grohl’s sensitive side in a handful of drippy piano-based ballads. They’re just as okay as you’d expect.

—Michael Wood

Echoes, Silence, Patience & Gracee (RCA)

Users say