Trend watch: Little black dresses under $200

The debut of Breakfast at Tiffany’s on Broadway (Mar 20) inspired us to track down affordable LBDs in a range of silhouettes and styles.

0

Comments

Add +

Ever since Audrey Hepburn donned an LBD in the film Breakfast at Tiffany’s, the colorless cocktail dress has become a classic wardrobe staple. The story’s revival on Broadway (debuts Mar 20) inspired us to track down affordable variations in a range of silhouettes. Look for bodycon versions from SuperTrash and Forever 21, ruffled styles from Old Navy and QVC, and plus-size options from Calvin Klein and Avenue.

  • Marc by Marc Jacobs Toni metallic knit dress, $198, at Bloomingdale’s, 1000 Third Ave at 59th St (212-705-2000, bloomingdales.com)

  • Maggy London ruched jersey dress, $158, at maggylondon.com

  • Calvin Klein plus-size print colorblock dress, $109, at amazon.com/fashion

  • Penny Chic by Shauna Miller black peplum dress, $20, at walmart.com

  • eShakti Her Fifties sundress, $70, at eshakti.com

  • Zara shirtdress, $60, at Zara, locations throughout the city; visit zara.com

  • Photographer: Craig Curtis

    A|X Armani Exchange embellished long-sleeve dress, $98, at A|X Armani Exchange, 568 Broadway at Prince St (212-431-6000, armaniexchange.com)

  • Plenty by Tracy Reese Flapper shift, $164, at Tracy Reese, 641 Hudson St between Gansevoort and Horatio Sts (212-807-0505, tracyreese.com)

  • Wallis black short-sleeve dress, $78, at wallisfashion.com

  • Photograph: Melissa Koene

    SuperTrash Divers dress, $104, at SuperTrash, 29 Prince St at Mott St (212-226-1565, supertrash.com)

  • Asos Skater dress with daisy cutwork, $79, at us.asos.com

  • Photograph: Perry Hagopian

    Avenue Shimmery Blouson Cold Shoulder dress, $30, at onestopplus.com

  • Bailey 44 leather strip dress, $195, at Pink Pepper Boutique, 201 Court St between Bergen and Wyckoff Sts, Cobble Hill, Brooklyn (347-889-6548)

  • Photograph: Noffar Gat

    Kain Shailene dress, $180, at A. Turen, 84 Stanton St between Allen and Orchard Sts (212-533-8200)

  • Porcelain Primadonna dress, $195, at porcelainnyc.com

  • Dressbarn cutout neckline dress, $60, at Dressbarn, locations throughout the city; visit dressbarn.com

  • Deletta Crisscross pleated dress, $128, at anthropologie.com

  • Motel Michaela mesh-sleeve peplum dress, $90, at motelrocks.com

  • A-thread lacy little black dress, $74, at a-thread.com

  • Hanes Signature split-V dress, $25, at hanes.com

  • Old Navy long-sleeved wrap dress, $33, at oldnavy.com

  • Muse Apparel Circle Lace shift dress, $99, at museapparel.com

  • Finders Keepers Biting Bullets dress, $148, at piperlime.com

  • M by Marc Bouwer sleeveless knit dress with ruffle detail, $57, at qvc.com

  • Rachel Pally Ursina dress, $198, at revolveclothing.com

  • Photograph: Courtesy Massimo Dutti

    Massimo Dutti leather detail dress, $90, at Massimo Dutti, 689 Fifth Ave between 54th and 55th Sts (212-371-2555, massimodutti.com)

  • Forever 21 metallic bodycon bandage dress, $33, at Forever 21, locations throughout the city; visit forever21.com

  • Guess mesh inset dress, $98, at Guess, 537 Broadway between Prince and Spring Sts (212-226-9545, guess.com)

  • Uniqlo lace blocking sleeveless dress, $40, at Uniqlo, 666 Fifth Ave between 52nd and 53rd Sts (877-486-4756) • 31 W 34th St between Fifth and Sixth Aves (877-486-4756) • 546 Broadway between Prince and Spring Sts (917-237-8800) • uniqlo.com

  • Photograph: Jay Muhlin

    Laundry by Shelli Segal one-shoulder zipper-detail dress, $165, at Bloomingdale’s, 1000 Third Ave at 59th St (212-705-2000, bloomingdales.com)

  • Emilia Clarke as Holly Golightly in Breakfast at Tiffany’s on Broadway

Marc by Marc Jacobs Toni metallic knit dress, $198, at Bloomingdale’s, 1000 Third Ave at 59th St (212-705-2000, bloomingdales.com)

See the show! Breakfast at Tiffany’s opens Mar 20 at the Cort Theatre (138 W 48th St between Sixth and Seventh Aves; 212-239-6200, breakfastattiffanysonbroadway.com; $37–$127).


Follow Cristina Velocci on Twitter: @cvelocci



Users say

0 comments