2016 Grant Mc Lennan Fellowship ~ Apps Close Sep 19

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
2016 Grant Mc Lennan Fellowship ~ Apps Close Sep 19
More Less
2016 Grant Mc Lennan Fellowship ~ Apps Close Sep 19 says
Nominations are now open for the 2016 Grant McLennan Fellowship, jointly funded by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland and APRA AMCOS.

Founded in 2007 in honour of the late Queensland singer-songwriter and co-frontman of The Go-Betweens, Grant McLennan, the Fellowship is an incredible chance for local songwriters to take their careers to a whole new level.

The prestigious $25,000 fellowship offers the recipient an opportunity to travel to New York, London or Berlin for up to six months and use the experience of being immersed in a foreign and vibrant musical culture to further develop their own artistic skills.

These three cities were of special significance in Grant’s life, and for the last nine years have provided Queensland musicians with the same kinds of transformative experiences that made his music so special. 2016 marks the tenth anniversary of Grant’s passing, and the tenth opportunity for a Queensland songwriter to both benefit from and contribute to his legacy.

Premier and Arts Minister Annastacia Palaszczuk said the prestigious award, founded by the Queensland Government with the blessing of the McLennan family, helped to strengthen the Queensland contemporary music sector.

“Previous winners continue to leverage opportunities as a result of this award, making valuable national and international connections for the sector and building the profile of Queensland’s music industry."

“Last year’s winner Timothy Steward leaves for London this week to work with UK industry professionals and write songs inspired by his immersion in local London life for his band We All Want To’s fourth album,” she said.

APRA AMCOS’ Head of Member Services, Dean Ormston, said, “We’re really pleased to be able to recognise Grant’s songwriting and ongoing influence through this fellowship. He holds a very important place in Australia’s songwriting history.”

Applications open on Monday 25 July for individual songwriters and songwriting duos.

You must:

**Reside in Queensland and be an Australian citizen or permanent resident
**Be 21 years of age or older
**Be a member of APRA AMCOS
**Have satisfied the reporting requirements of any previous Arts Queensland grants
Have an ABN
**Only submit one application in each round (e.g. songwriting duos may not also submit individual applications).

Applications close on September 19, with the winners to be announced in December.

View application guidelines > http://www.qmusic.com.au

Previous winners of the Grant McLennan Fellowship have been:

2015: Timothy Steward (WE ALL WANT TO, Screamfeeder)
2014: Thomas Calder (The Trouble With Templeton)
2013: Seja Vogel
2012: Louise O’Reilly and Paul Hannan (Laneway)
2011: Scott Spark
2010: Danny Widdicombe & Andrew Morris (The Wilson Pickers)
2009: Helen Franzmann (McKisko)
2008: John Busby and Chris Dale (Halfway)
2007: Greg Charles

The 2016 Grant McLennan Fellowship is joint-funded by Arts Queensland and APRA AMCOS and administered by QMusic
More Less

By: QMusic